Forestry Commission logo

North West & West Midlands Area

The Forestry Commission England Area team work to protect, improve and expand the woodland resource across the North West and West Midlands Area.

We enable landowners and managers, businesses, civil society or organisations, and local communities to protect, improve and expand the entire woodland resource in England. 

We provide a service based on evidence based standards, expert advice, communications, partnerships and grants and by regulating forestry.

The North West and West Midlands Area contains almost 250,000 hectares of woodland across a wide range of landscape types, including 3 National Parks and 8 Areas of Outstanding National Beauty. The area contains over 12 million people.

Contact Us

Your Local Woodland Officer can assist you with expert advice about managing your woodland, the range of support available and the regulatory processes involved

Grants and Regulations

Grant support, felling and planting permissions, advice and information

Visit a Forestry Commission Woodland

Visit a Forestry Commission woodland near you

Visit all Woodlands

Visit all woodlands near you, including Woodland trust, National Trust and Wildlife Trust woodlands

Pests and Diseases

Tree health, pests and diseases, biosecurity

Our Partnerships

Our projects with partner organisations

Events and News

All the latest events and news in the North West and West Midlands

Forestry and Woodlands Advisory Committee

North West and West Midlands committee chairs and members

Last updated: 31st January 2018
North West & West Midlands region

What's of interest


Sign up for updates on pests and diseases from Forestry Commission England.