Forestry Commission logo

User Comments

Your comments on Wendover Woods

3 Stars 3 Stars

Great time at go ape but the staff in the cafe have a bad attitude and poor customer service skills. One lady in particular seemed annoyed that I wanted to decide what to order. She looked like The world was ending. The difference between go ape staff and cafe staff was quite huge !!

John, 10/Jul/2018

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you didn't get the service you expected. I will pass on your feedback to the site manager.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

The new parking system introduced in 2018 seems to overcharge as a matter of course. It tells you it doesnt recognise your ref number, then asks you to say what time you arrive. Itll then add 25 minutes. In 24 hours I know 3 people this has happened to. Cancel it, start again and miraculously the correct arrival time is now shown. How many people havent checked and have been ripped off?

As well as actually robbing people of money, the parking system is insanely slow. The barriers take forever to go up. Itll be carnage on a busy day.

So far, not loving the improvements. HS2 can take their money back thanks.

Anonymous, 1/Jul/2018

We are sorry you are disappointed with the new system. It was working slowly but this is now fixed. I have passed your comments onto the Information Point team to investigate. If you have any further trouble please go to the information point and they will help you resolve the issues.

Forestry Commission Response

We have a season pass for the woods, how will this work once the new barriers are in operation?

Mark, 12/Jun/2018

All our Discovery Pass holders have been automatically added to the new system. As you approach the exit barrier, the cameras will recognise your number plate and the barrier will lift. Please ensure you keep your vehicle registration numbers up to date.

Forestry Commission Response

Dear sirs,

We Japanese School visit your place on 8th June. When my colleague and I had a visit for outing preparation in April, only one toilet was open. I hope that you will open all the toilets on the day of our visit. Kind regards A Sekine

Mrs Akiko SEKINE, 28/May/2018

The second block of toilets are opened for busy days and when we have bookings. The 8th June 2018 is a very busy day for school visits. Please would you telephone 0300 067 4160 to register your schools details with us.

Forestry Commission Response

Wow this is an amazing park with lots to do and the free bbq area is a bonus! The play area for under 12s has been removed apparently it's in the process of being relocated this didn't bother my little girl as she was happy walking around discovering new things and using her imagination.

Bring your own picnic why would you want to queue at the cafe anyway!

Fantastic spot never thought there's anything like this in this country!!

Just moved to Aylesbury , 10/May/2018
4 Stars 4 Stars

Please tell me what actions you intents to take over the ignorant dog owners who carry out the hard bit of picking up their dog poo but then hang the bags on trees, leave them on the wooden benches or just throw them in the undergrowth.

Perhaps a campaign of putting posters around the woods showing this unacceptable practice with the words ARE YOU RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS..IF SO YOU ATE NOT WELCOME IN THESE BEAUTIFUL WOODS

It is a shameful practice and needs addressing .

NickG, 30/Apr/2018
5 Stars 5 Stars

We have moved away from the area and really miss coming to Wendover Woods. Trying to find something similar in our new area.

Gareth, 30/Apr/2018
1 Star 1 Star

Awful place. Shambles. No central information point. Overworked cafe staff had to deal with enquiries. Mud everywhere and the final straw was the 3 cost for an activity pack which contained a piece of string and a bit of paper. Never again!

Duncan Gilfillan, 15/Apr/2018

We are sorry to hear that your experience of our forest environment was not to your liking. As part of the transformation of Wendover Woods our New Information point is currently being constructed opposite the café. We have been impacted over the winter months by some very poor weather and the Easter Holiday period was incredibly wet which has led to a muddy experience, which children do seem to be enjoying!

Forestry Commission Response

Myself and the kids love the woods and use the area for both fun and fitness. Visiting yesterday for nothing more than a muddy walk I could see the developments have now resulted in the play park being removed. Not overly well received but he younger amongst us however I am not one to stand in the way of progress . What was a concern was the parking machine which took 3 attempts inc payment before a ticket was issued. Not expecting a refund but please make sure this new tech is fit for purpose !

Nick, 3/Apr/2018

Many thanks for your comments. Young people do appear to enjoy a ‘muddy puddle’. There will be a new play trail in time. We will also be increasing staffing within the Forest Centre area to assist visitors with any difficulties.

Forestry Commission Response

Following the improvements the number of visitors & their dogs to the woods will more than double. Is there any plans to make it compulsory that dogs must be on leads as they do on National Trust sites? Following several incidents with off lead dogs and abuse from their owners I regret to say that I don't feel safe to walk my nervous dog in these beautiful woods. I also feel the local farmers would also appreciate such a ruling to protect their livestock.

Anonymous, 31/Mar/2018

I am sorry to hear you have had bad experiences in the woodland. Please feel free to contact the office 0300 067 4160 to report these so we can look into it. At present we do not have plans to request dogs on leads but we do work hard to promote good dog behaviour across our sites.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Appreciate these improvements but having read that much of the soil is unusable and must be removed from site it would good if it could be re used locally. Many locals use laybys on the perimeter of the woods to park their cars before walking into the woods with their dogs e.g. Hale Road has three such areas and im sure there must be others. Unfortunately, with the amount of cars using these areas has resulted in major pot holes. As the unusable soil has to be removed from the site perhaps this soil could be used to fill these holes to level out the ground of these laybys. I know it wont stop holes from re occurring but it would re cycle this soil and I'm sure the locals would appreciate this gesture.

Anonymous, 31/Mar/2018

Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately time has not been on our side with this part of the transformation and to do as you suggest was not possible. The permissions required from landowners and local authorities could not be guaranteed and would have taken too long.

Forestry Commission Response
2 Stars 2 Stars

We paid a visit to the Woods hoping for short pleasant walk. There were no warning signs that parking had changed significantly and was much reduced. We managed to find a space before we were nearly obliged to exit the park. We normally bring our grandchildren who really enjoy the disabled walking route and the childrens play area. This latter has completely disappeared and I note that play trail has not been started yet. Obviously the parking (which raises money) has been given priority. It is unclear if the disabled walk is still open. We did try the signposted Highway rat trail but it was very muddy and strewn with branches.

We have a season ticket for parking but we will not be bringing our grandchildren to the Woods until there is considerable improvement of facilities for children.

Anonymous, 25/Mar/2018

Many thanks for your comments. We have provided advanced communications about the changes through a variety of channels including website, facebook, banners, posters, signs and radio interviews. We are sorry you have not seen any of these. Half of the all ability trail has been closed to make way for the new exit road. We are looking forward to the new development being finished later this year.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

I'm a regular visitor with my dog, and know the woods well, I had to give 3 starts because away from the parking and cafe area the woods remain beautiful. However as for the transformation, I'm currently finding it amusing watching mud being repeatedly carted sideways, backwards and forwards across the soon to be extra car parking space without apparently making any real progress, I hope the contractors aren't charging by the day. In terms of user experience so far the work in the wet conditions combined with the heavy plant traffic has indeed "transformed" the main visitor area into a horrible muddy mess. The marketing communication promises that the work being done is in response to what your customers asked for, do you really have sustainable evidence that your customers want a more robust method of collecting parking fees? For now there is little tangible evidence that the promised transformation will be positive for the user rather than profitable for the owner. Although I'm sure the work will make the natural beauty of the woods accessible to more people. All of whom will pay (without fail) for parking and, you my hope extra food & beverages. A couple of questions:

- Will prices increase as the work completes?

- And do you expect to complete the work on schedule?

Zack, 13/Mar/2018

Prices have been held for some years now and are currently under review. The weather has been an issue thus far impacting upon the scheduled programme. The contractors provide us with an updated programme schedule on a regular basis. At the moment the programme has slipped by 2 weeks.

Forestry Commission Response

A lot of small children play and touch the gruffelo, it would be a good idea to spend a few hundred pounds to put a gated fence found it as lots of dogs cock their leg up it. This would protect your future visitors and I,m sure would be approved by parents.

Barry Collins, 19/Feb/2018

Many thanks for your communication. Unfortunately a gated fence is not going to resolve the matter. Being in a forest environment it is highly likely that all manner of animals both large and small are impacting upon the statue, this is the nature of the environment in which the statue stands.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

What a mess! Half term so thought the family would meet together at the woods for the children to have some fun. 1st car was allowed in but the other 2 were told to park at the exit and walk in due to no parking! There were at least 4 parking spaces when I (the 1st and only car allowed in). Very disappointed as the other drivers didnt know the area. After seeing the mess up there with not much for the children to do, no park! We decided to meet back up (another mission!) and head elsewhere with upset children that had especially decorated rocks for the gruffalo trail, again that wasnt there anymore either. I really hope these new plans are good ones. Not a good experience during half term.

Anonymous, 16/Feb/2018

Thank you for comments. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Half term is of course a busy period for us with the schools being off. We brought in a Circus Skills entertainer for some of the days and also installed a Disc Golf Course for visitors to experience if they wished. For updates on the development works please see our Website development page and also our Facebook page at ‘Wendoverwoods’.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I have walked these woods with my dogs since 1975, the footpaths have never!!been so bad due to cyclist using them. This really needs to be sorted. Using a car to get there I have to pay. They need to contribute to their damage!!

Barry Collins, 28/Jan/2018

Many thanks for contacting us via the website with your concerns about our footpaths. Unfortunately, we have experienced some exceptional weather events this winter which has made the ground significantly wetter than in recent years. This and the increased footfall we have been seeing over the same period has resulted in a wetter experience than we’ve come to expect as normal. Cyclists are permitted to use the designated trails and only need to pay if they bring their cycles to the woods by car.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

Shame about cyclists using the non cycling trails still, churns up the trails and verbal abuse from cyclists when you point out that they are off the designated trail.How about them having to pay for a permit like the horse riders that say they could be contolled a bit more and raise money to help keep the paths open.

Martyn Cleal, 14/Jan/2018

Thank you for providing us with this feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your visit has not been as you would have liked. Where we find cyclists using non cycling trails they are dealt with. Unfortunately, we are unable to monitor all trails at all times, as we are sure you can appreciate.

Forestry Commission Response

We travelled for forty minutes to get to Wendover Woods on New Years Day, bringing three small excited children to walk the Highway Rat trail . We were extremely disappointed that there were no activity packs left for them to buy. I feel this is unacceptable. You must have known that over the Christmas period there would be more people wanting to visit. Surely more packs could have been obtained.

Susan Ward, 8/Jan/2018

I am sorry you were unable to obtain a pack on the day. Our Highway Rat trail packs can be obtained from 2 main sources, the Café and the Forest Office. If you are unable to secure a pack from either of these points a third option is to contact our Duty Ranger on 07796 313507.

Forestry Commission Response

Please can you tell me what orienteering markers are out of action

Graham, 17/Nov/2017

All the posts are in place. Half of them were relocated last year in order to keep the trail fresh and updated. Please check your map and if you need an updated one, please pop into the Forest Office or Café in the Woods.

Forestry Commission Response

Are there sculptures of all the characters from the gruffalo on your gruffalo trail or just of the gruffalo himself? We came last year to do the stickman trail and left with a very dissapointed 4 year old as the trailers no longer there dispite being advertised on your website. We don't want a repeat performance.

Anonymous, 21/Oct/2017

Thank you. We have the Gruffalo himself who has been in situ since 2015, but we do not have the other characters on the trail. If you need any further information on the day, then please call our rangers on 07796 313507

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Hello what day you planing to sell Christmas trees this year?

Kasia, 3/Oct/2017

The Christmas Tree Sales Centre will start on Thursday 30th November.

Forestry Commission Response

Was there ever a Gruffalo statue? If so where is it as we couldn't find it!! Very disappointed toddlers!!

Anonymous, 17/Sep/2017

Yes, we do have a Gruffalo sculpture. He has been on site for 2 years on the meadow overlooking our viewpoint. He is marked on our current leaflet and is a short walk from the Café. He can also be found towards the end of our easy access trail. Just walk round and when you pass the bench at the end of the narrower section, turn left towards the open area and he is in the meadow looking at the views. I hope you manage to find him.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I lost a camera at the woods on Sept 3rd. Wondered if one had been handed in?

Love the woods. Great for families

Mrs S Rollinson, 5/Sep/2017

No I'm sorry but we have not had one handed in to us here. You could try the Café on 01296 620294? Or if you want to call us on 0300 067 4160 we can take your details if anything does turn up?

Forestry Commission Response

I don't really know if you can fly drones at Wendover Woods so if you could you please inform me

Anonymous, 27/Aug/2017

Wendover Woods is in a controlled airspace. If you are operating a drone above 7kg you must not fly in these areas without prior permission from the air traffic service provider controlling that airspace. If you are under 7kg, it is still strongly advised to notify the air traffic service provider of your activity. The drone operator must hold a current and valid CAA license to fly such a device, this includes all types of Drone from small recreational devices to large professional rigs. Please include a copy of the operator’s license in your application if you intended to use a Drone for filming. It would also be your responsibility to advise the local RAF Traffic Control range control of your activity and submit an appropriate flight plan and also inform other local authorities including the Police. you can find more information at http://www.noflydrones.co.uk/ I hope that information is useful?

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Please send 100 copies of your DL brochure for display at High Wycombe Library. Our mailing details follow:

The Library

5 Eden Place

High Wycombe

HP11 2DH

Many thanks

Alison

Alison Brothers, 10/Aug/2017

We will do thank you.

Forestry Commission Response

I am a frequent visitor to wendover woods and i have a car park pass . I am sick of the cyclists going the wrong way through one one way system. they dont slow down and feel it is their right of way. Often on the way out we meet large groups of cyclist coming in the out enterancd and i end up stopping as they make no concession to me who is going the right way through the system.

Is there anything you can do to stop this.? Cyclist dont pay to use the lovely woods but i as a car driver do.

Angela gregory, 20/Jul/2017

We’re sorry to hear that inconsiderate cyclists are causing an inconvenience for you. The one way traffic system only applies to motor vehicles; cyclists are permitted to go in either direction. However, it is clearly in their own interests to be considerate of other users on the forest drive or on any other shared trail in the woods. If you do encounter a large group of inconsiderate cyclists please inform the Duty Ranger on 07796313507 and they can contact the event organiser to discuss the matter with them. We will also look into installing a notice on the drive entrance/exit to remind cyclists they are on a shared road with oncoming traffic.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Don't count on the gates being open at 8am - gave up waiting at 8.10 this morning - not for the first time.

Anonymous, 18/Jul/2017

I am sorry the gates were not open at 8am for you. Our duty ranger was off sick that morning and we got to them a little later than usual.

Forestry Commission Response

Utterly disappointed at my family's visit today the so called Park area was shocking trees cut down very little to do and not suitable for disabled children.

Anonymous, 8/Jul/2017

We are starting an exciting series of improvements to our site including new café, new toilets, new all inclusive play trail, a new car park, and a site office. The trees have been cleared to relocate the car park out of the centre of the area used by our visitors, to provide a safer more attractive vehicle free space. The work will be taking place over the next year and it will cause some disruption. These plans have been out to consultation and tailor to meet the needs of our visitors. The improvements will improve the provision all round. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit but hope you will visit once the work has been completed.

Forestry Commission Response

Is horse riding permitted?

Daisy, 23/Jun/2017

Yes, we have a permissive horse riding trail. For more information please visit our website at https://www.forestry.gov.uk/forestry/englandbuckinghamshirenoforestwendoverwoodsmainentrancehorsetrail or give us a call at the office on 0300 067 4160.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Dear sir,

We Japanese school visited your beautiful place on 9th June as a part of school curriculum. When students were walking around with special missions done by us teachers, my colleague happened to see the couple having a sex in a bird watching hut in a purple trail. He was really upset and shocked about it. Of course we told students not to pop in it with another reason. When we went there a month ago, the hut was sealed with yellow tape and was closed. We hope you will find a proper solution to stop it, though it is difficult.

Kind regards,

A Sekine

Ms Akiko SEKINE, 11/Jun/2017

I am very sorry to hear of your experience. It sounds like your colleague managed the situation well in the circumstances. I will make the team aware and we will monitor the situation going forward. The tape was when the building was closed for repair, which was recently completed. I am sorry you missed visiting the hide on that occasion.

Forestry Commission Response

Hello I'm thinking of coming to do the gruffalo trail, and wanted to bring my dog are the welcome

Thank Serina.

Serina, 1/Jun/2017

Yes, dogs are welcome in Wendover Woods. Please note that dogs are not allowed in the Children's Play area, but dogs under control are welcome throughout the rest of the woodland.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Signs for walking trails should be more obvious.

Anonymous, 24/May/2017

Thank you for your email. We are just starting on some exciting improvements to the centre of the woods and way-finding our trails is included in this. There will be a central point where all the trails will start from, making it much easier to navigate. In the mean-time please pick up a leaflet or download from our website at www.forestry.gov.uk/wendoverwoods

Forestry Commission Response

can you please let me know if the bluebells are at their best right now.

thank you

Anonymous, 13/Apr/2017

The bluebells are out at the moment but many are still coming out into flower.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

Today Sunday was a nightmare people parking anywhere and driving at speed whilst blasting out music. There seemed to be a mass B&Q going on .Some sort of festival? Managed to get away from it all for a walk. I also feel it is unnecessary to increase cafe space it's all becoming too commercial.

Angela , 2/Apr/2017

This weekend was Iranian New Year. As part of the celebrations, people come together and enjoy the great outdoors. It has increased in popularity over the last few years and is a great community event. It was also the start of the Easter School Holidays. The planned improvements aim to reduce issues with parking and traffic, which will make the woodland a nicer place to be at busy times.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

Would be nice if there was weekend education for adults, the very people who should be teaching thier kids instead of relying on others. Camping, bush craft, identification skills would all be well desired, camping both in the woods and near by fields should be encouraged, and support of reintroduction of wild animals should take place in and around these woods

Anonymous, 9/Mar/2017

Thank you for your suggestions. We are planning improvements to the woods which will support education in the future. We currently work with many groups to provide training and until recently we had a bushcraft instructor training in the woods. The woods are designated as a local wildlife site and are full of wildlife, both common species and more rare like the Firecrest or glow-worms.

Forestry Commission Response

want to take my 3 yr old on the gruffalo trail, has anyone done it yet also with a push chair? 8 also have a 3 month old! I'm not local so do not wish to travel that far to be u able to do the trail and visit the play ground. Can anyone advise? ;)

Jamie, 23/Feb/2017

Hello, the majority of the Gruffalo Spotters Trail can be done with a buggy, but there are several short sections that can be muddy with puddles in wet weather, and may pose a challenge to light weight buggies. All terrain buggies with large wheels should be fine.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

A decent forest and no more waste bins needed. It is easy to take away your own rubbish and not leave any trace. "Whatungarongaro te tangata toitū te whenua." As man disappears from sight, the land remains. ~Maori Proverb

Anonymous, 16/Jan/2017
3 Stars 3 Stars

We did the hilltop trail and there was not one waste bin along the trail. When we returned to the cafe again there wasn't any bins to be seen for our cups. Could you place more bins around the site and trails.

Anonymous, 29/Dec/2016

Thank you for your comment about bins. We don't currently provide waste bins other than those by located by the Café, as we try and encourage people to take their own rubbish home. There are bins by the Café for waste that we produce on site like your cups. We are planning site improvements and bins will be part of these plans.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We loved the stickman trail! Will there be another Julia Donaldson themed trail?

Katie, 2/Nov/2016

We have two themed trails coming up. The Autumn Trail which is in the woodland now, followed by the Christmas Trail which will be coming late November/early December.

Forestry Commission Response

Have you considered putting a few more dog bins around the woods, maybe at the junctions where the main paths meet.

Tony Skeggs , 22/Oct/2016

We currently have five dog bins on site, which we feel is sufficient. As there are currently many trails it would be costly to put bins on all of them so we have put them on the start of the most popular ones and at two of our other entrance points.

Forestry Commission Response
| Back to Wendover Woods

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.