Forestry Commission logo

User Comments

Your comments on Jeskyns

5 Stars 5 Stars

Very good walks for the dogs and kids, was there a duck pond there?

Anonymous, 12/Apr/2018

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your visit. We have Henhurst Lake on site (head past café - bottom of hill) on which some ducks occasionally visit.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Thank god and the Forestry Commission, Jeskyns team and local authority for recognising there is a need for a dog friendly park..Top marks !

Easter Sunday, well attended and hundreds of people with all breeds, enjoying a stroll, and letting their dogs be dogs.

No hassle, no one worried about the wet ground, muddy gate entrances (Could do with some wood chip guys) or the dogs being themselves woofing and running around in the areas allowed.. Brilliant enclosed doggy excersise areas so safe to let you pooch be a pooch and nowhere to run off away to, a pond for them to take a dip (Although personally I'd love to see a fence and a gate across the area so those dogs with little recal ability, like ours, can be safely let off and not have to worry about them running off if the local farm bird scarer goes off.

Long walks, equestrian friendly ride area, saw some lads on mountain bikes all behacving sensibly and seemed welcome.

Friendly peoople all around.

Expect dogs to be dogs and come say and enthusiastic hello with the accompanying muddy paws or wet coats, and you'll not be dissapointed.

Family friendly areas with swuings, slide, climbing equipment in a forest theme, plenty to see and space to enjoy...Great for wearing out the kids as well as dogs.

Well done all concerned.. We will be back as this was our first time.

Robbie smelled of pond and hated the bath after tho LOL!

Rob W, 1/Apr/2018

Glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit so much Rob and thanks for the great comments. Will ensure the whole team see them.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I love this place i come here with my mum and dad very often. My dog runs off a lot and i find that the play pens for the dogs are good.

Madeline Green, 26/Feb/2018

Thanks for your comments Madeline - glad you are enjoying your visit!

Forestry Commission Response

i came first time too this park in january 2018, we loved it. my dog is big and we love to walk large distances , open spaces and woods. i am often there around working so decided to buy yearly parking ticket. unfortunately last few time we have been, in the woods around someone was hunting or making some sound nosies, banging like. my dog got scared, he doesn't like fireworks, thunderstorm and any loud noises. i gave him few days break and we went today. as he got comfortable and i was hoping he forgot noise, we went to the woods. he didn't want to go, he must of feel something, on our way back it started. he run back towards the car, i couldn't follow him fast enough. people were telling me where he run and some lovely man asked if i need help. it seems like it is going to be constant so unfortunately we won't be coming back there. i can't put throughout this kind of stress my dog and i don't want to chase him or even loose him if the shooting is going to be in the middle of our walk and he gets spooked. it is a shame only i wasn't aware that there are people hunting so close to the areas where animals are. i despise hunters myself. if i knew i would never buy parking ticket for a year. disappointed.

justine, 20/Feb/2018

Sorry to hear about your experience Justine. Whilst we do not allow shooting on Jeskyns we obviously can't be responsible for neighboring land. I know that neighboring farmers often have bird scarers on newly sown crops, so this might be what you have been hearing recently. The good news is that they are not normally firing all year round so I do hope you will give us another try.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Jeskyns is great for dogs. Mine loves it there. I haven't had any issues myself, but I have seen some owners who are terrified of letting their dogs near larger breeds. They quite clearly don't understand dog behaviour and instantly see larger dogs as threats, which is such a shame. Saw a lady screaming at a man with a german shepard and the poor dog wasn't doing anything wrong. Felt sorry for the owner too. I would suggest if they are that worried and feel the need to ask for dogs to be put back on leads, that they stick to the on lead area, or take them to the enclosed space. Shame they aren't able to socialise their dogs properly though because of their fears.

Rebecca, 7/Feb/2018
4 Stars 4 Stars

I love walking my 2 little Cockapoos at Jeskyns and have met lots of lovely people and their doggies but unfortunately just lately there has been issues with owners of large dogs off lead that terrorise smaller dogs and are quite indignant and rude when asked if they could put them on a lead whilst you pass them. Its not the dogs fault of course but the incompetent, dullarded owners of these larger breeds -which is a shame because the park is fab!

Linda, 4/Feb/2018

Sorry to hear this Linda. Our Rangers will keep trying to promote the "Consideration to all" messages and will challenge any dog owner they see behaving inconsiderately or irresponsibly.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Hi, in case you didnt know its National Cavachon Day on Sunday 29th April and there is a meet organised for that day at Jeskyns starting at 11am. (At the moment there are 36 owners coming)

Steve, 30/Jan/2018

Thank you for getting in touch Steve. We'd be grateful if the group organisers could email us to confirm details and to talk though the best way to ensure your meet up goes well and without incident. You may be aware that there have been some incidents recently in relation to large group dog walks (see our Facebook page) so would be good to chat though. jeskynsranger@foresrty.gsi.gov.uk

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I love the orchard end of Jeskyns and value it's peace and quiet. Could we possibly have another poo bin near the Round Street end please? It might encourage irresponsible owners to clear up after their dogs.

Gill, 23/Jan/2018

Thank you for you comments - glad to hear you are enjoying your visits. We will consider your request for an extra poo bin near the Round Street entrance if funds allow.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Have been bringing my dog to Jeskyns since it opened. I visit country parks all over Kent. Jeskyns is still my favourite. I love seeing it grow. The forestry commission have done a fantastic job.

Ellie, 15/Nov/2017

Do you have to pay for disabled parking?

April, 5/Nov/2017

Yes, normal parking fees apply of £1.50 a day.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

The park dogs off lead zone is great especially for my rescue although I do have one issue, on s Sunday a large group of dogs meet in the exercise area. It is an absolute joke. They run riot and fight. Many of times I've stood back and watched the owers jump in and get involved. On the other side we all just stand their shaking our heads. It's irresponsible and dangerous.

Holly , 4/Nov/2017

Thank you for bringing this to our attention Holly. Our Rangers will try and monitor what is happening in the fenced dog areas on Sundays speaking to any owners who are not keeping proper control of their dogs.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

lilly bloomfield, 26/Oct/2017
4 Stars 4 Stars

I frequently walk my dogs at Jeskyns, and haven't seen that sort of behaviour and agree it is unacceptable. My gripe is the dog owners who don't pick up, (some of whom are so called professional dog walkers) especially when it is in the middle of the path and often near a bin. It is easy to get talking and be walking ahead of the dogs, therefore not watching them. Also there are some who bag it then lob it into the trees where it can be for years as it will not disintegrate.

I have enjoyed seeing the different sheep there this year, including the shy brown ones also the cows with their calves.

I think Jeskyns is great!

joyce, 23/Oct/2017
4 Stars 4 Stars

Great day out in the fresh air and Kent countryside. I would defiantly go back. The only down side were some of the irresponsible dog owners who despite signs let their dogs run lose in the dog on leads zone.

The start sign for the graffalo appeared to show us in the wrong direction. We still had fun though. Great way to get out, get some fresh air and egg some exercise.

Anonymous, 13/Oct/2017

Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you encountered some irresponsible dog owners, our Rangers will continue trying to enforce the on leads zone rules. I think we may have an arrow missing from the Gruffalo Start Sign - we will get this sorted. Thanks again.

Forestry Commission Response

Is this place good for kids or is it more for dog walking? Is it gruffalo themed?

Anonymous, 9/Oct/2017

Jeskyns is a great place for the whole community and many visitors come with and without dogs. We have a Gruffalo Trail and children's play areas. More info: www.forestry.gov.uk/jeskyns

Forestry Commission Response

Irresponsible dog owners make me so angry its a place for everyone to enjoy not just dog owners. Met one today whose dog leapt up at me when i said please call it off she laughingly assured me he wouldnt hurt that is not my issue its the dirty wet paw marks all over coat and leggings. Also in August this year i was walking through the woodland path near the now disused childrens fort, and met an irresponsible female dog owner with 3 dogs all off leads, the 3 dogs all leapt up at me enmasse totally ignoring her call to get down they were all scrabbling at me and i had bare legs ifumed at her to get the blasted animals off she just advised me to keep walking( what!!). well i did and back at my car saw blood and a deep scratch caused by a dirty scratchy paw.This ended with me having to have a tetnus shot. This is totally unacceptable but too late to do anything about with person concerned If this happens again i am taking names and lodging complaints A dog owner should be able to control their dogs or they shouldnt be off leads.Also what if this had been a child whose parents were anti injections.

Anonymous, 8/Oct/2017

Sorry to hear about your experiences. We have shared your comments on the main page so that other visitors can see them.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Visited today specifically for the Gruffalo trail. Cant rate the experience highly enough. Visited with my adult daughter and 19 month old granddaughter. We used the app on my phone to hunt the footprints and made sure we met the Gruffalo. The whole experience was excellent. From the staff manning the car park, to the cafe staff to the FREE craft activities. We wasnt rushed and everyone was helpful and friendly even when meeting the Gruffalo himself. Staff were on hand to take photographs.

A thoroughly good time had by all. Thank you to everyone and WELL DONE!

Anonymous , 7/Oct/2017

Thank you for your feedback - so pleased you enjoyed the day - we all had a great day too!

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Please can you "walk" the fence around the field containing cattle and sheep. I think it is designed to be dog proof, but a dog got in early this afternoon - Sunday (a springer I think) with mischief in mind. Fortunately it reached the cattle before the sheep and one of the big ladies got up and gave it an almighty kick with her back legs. I'm not sure if it was the owner or the dog who screamed, but it went scampering back to her and she managed to climb over the barbed wire to retrieve it. It seemed to have got in from the pathway which connects the two longer paths.

Robert, 1/Oct/2017

Thanks for taking the time to report this. We will bring this to the attention of the tenant grazier so that he can get the fences fixed.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Love this place. I often foster for spaniel assist and whilst in foster the dogs are not allowed off lead and being spaniel's they need off lead to wear them out or try to with balls and recall training etc. So thus is perfect with its doggy play enclosed training areas except when get an idiot dog owner in there with not so behaved dog. Love the elks and lakes and our latest foster is 21mth old Cockermouth and he loves dogs and running like a whippet but needs the enclosed area x

Natalie Denham, 30/Sep/2017

Thanks for your feedback Natalie. Glad you are enjoying your visits to Jeskyns!

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Absolutely the best park around but again irresponsible owner,a man with uncastrated male keeps bringing it into penned area other males don't like it and it has badly injured another dog he's always there sat and Sunday am please can someone kindly talk to him it's never off lead so walk in park not pen,my dog hates whole males and had a go too and he grazed his face.

Anonymous, 20/Sep/2017

Thanks for your feedback. Please contact us via email with further details about this individual and his dog and we will do our best to speak with him. jeskynsranger@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

I love walking my puppy here, however a irresponsible dog owner letting her dog off the lead attacked my 16 week old pup, he's ok but is terrified of dogs he doesn't know.

Be aware of other dogs off the lead!

I reported it to the lady warden who was amazing as myself, son and pup were very shaken. Full description given.

Anonymous, 2/Aug/2017

Thanks for your feedback and we do hope your pup is recovering well. The description you gave was passed on to all site staff so we will keep our eyes peeled.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I absolutely love this park with its big open spaces. If you enjoy walking even without a doggy it's a great place to exercise.

Sammy, 7/Jul/2017

Thanks for your feedback Sammy - glad you are enjoying your visits.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Had a lovely walk Searching for the gruffalo but unfirtunately my daughter left her fitness watch in the ladies toilets by the cafe and it wasn't there when we got back. A lovely day weather wise and such a beautiful park to visit though!

Stuart Boyle, 26/Jun/2017

Thanks for your feedback Stuart. I will check with café to see if the watch has been handed in and let you know if it has.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Recently went to jeskins to walk my dog... Opted for the enclosed area to let her of the lead,was very dissapointed to find that the grass was very overgrown.. Needs cutting...apart from that very nice hour or two out....

Barry, 9/Jun/2017
4 Stars 4 Stars

A lovely place for dog walkers , and I'd love to cycle here more often as it suits my slower more leisurely pace than the rough off-road of shorne woods near by. BUT the height barriers they have in place mean that I can't get in with my families bikes all on the roof . And there is nowhere easily to unload outside the gates

Anonymous, 1/Jun/2017

Thanks for your comments, Unfortunately the height barrier is necessary to prevent fly tipping and illegal encampments. However, if you email us we can supply legitimate visitors such as yourself with the access code. Email: jeskynsranger@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Love Jeskins for lovely long walks with my dog and children all year round

Anonymous, 18/May/2017

Hi, I noticed a handful of Ash trees which, I believe, are suffering from Dieback.

It's hard to describe where they are, but they're opposite the field where the cows were last year.

Ash Dieback, 9/May/2017
1 Star 1 Star

Realise it is not Forestry Commission land but the state of the verges and Henhurst Road from the roundabout to the park is horribly littered. There could be some effort to at least remove all the litter to the verges outside the entrance. I visit FC parks in the north and they have pride in their environment. Will not be returning.

Brian Reynolds, 7/May/2017

Dog walkers should be able to enjoy the park in the same way as everyone else. However, there is no benefit in having 'on lead' areas, if owners use very long extendable leads and then fail to keep the dog under control, allowing them to charge up to people and risk incidents. Please could you include clear guidance to dog walkers. It would be preferable if it wasn't necessary, but some people are incapable of using a common sense approach.

Plh, 7/May/2017

Do you have a puppy area where they can't get out. And is there any parking concessions for blue badge holders

Anita, 4/May/2017

Thanks for your enquiry. We have two enclosed fenced areas for dog exercising and training. There are no concessions for blue badge holders.

Forestry Commission Response

Have you a secure fenced area for dogs to run in ?

Thanks

Jacqui

Jacqui Bennett , 21/Apr/2017

Yes - we have two fenced areas which are great for training and exercising in safe environment.

Forestry Commission Response

Amazing park and wonderful walks with our dogs and grandchildren except often would like, especially in the summer time, to come later to the park the suggestion of 7am to 8pm summertime is a great idea. On average we spend an hour and half walking and in the cafe. Thank you

Mrs Dee Reboe, 10/Apr/2017

Thanks for your feedback Dee. Jeskyns currently closed at 8pm, but at the height of summer remains open until 9pm.

Forestry Commission Response

Are there paths for my kids to ride there bikes/scooters .thanx.

Lee harding, 4/Apr/2017

Are dogs allowed in the cafe?

Anonymous, 19/Mar/2017

Thanks for your enquiry. Only assistance dogs are allowed in the café.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We had a lovely day out with our toddler doing the gruffalo trail. The food in the cafe was good, the grounds were clean. The only negative thing was when my son tripped over toward the end of the walk his hands went straight into a big pile of dog poo, lucky we was near the toilets so we could wash his hands quickly.

Charlotte , 12/Mar/2017
5 Stars 5 Stars

Is a great place for dog walking - although my only gripe is there are not enough dog bins as you walk around! Please please get some more put in then people may start picking up after their dogs!!

Anonymous, 12/Mar/2017

Hi can you tell me what date the gruffalo is running till please

michelle , 3/Mar/2017

Is there anywhere on site to hire mountain bikes for the day?

Thanks!

Anonymous, 2/Mar/2017
5 Stars 5 Stars

I have noticed that in some cases dog owners are not picking up feces un less it is on or very near the paths (some not picking up at all) however those that don't pick up at all are not easily delt with, but those who pick up may respond to a pick it up no matter where it falls campaign just a few posters pointing out the dangers and nuisance of dog feces and requesting people to pick it up no mater where it falls may help. I am a dog owner so speak only with the best intentions. I would also like to commend the rangers for making Jeskins such an enjoyable place to be thank for all your efforts well done.

D Chapman, 12/Feb/2017

Thanks for your comments D. Chapman. We appreciate how frustrating it is that a few inconsiderate owners are not picking up - especially to responsible dog owners such as yourself. We periodically place posters around site to remind visitors about picking up so will get some out in the near future.

Forestry Commission Response

Do we pay to get in etc?!

Anonymous, 31/Jan/2017

Jeskyns has a parking fee of £1.50 a day or £30 for an annual pass.

Forestry Commission Response
| Back to Jeskyns

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.