Forestry Commission logo

The UK Forestry Standard

The UK Forestry Standard (UKFS) is the reference standard for sustainable forest management in the UK. It outlines the context for forestry, sets out the approach of the UK governments to sustainable forest management, defines standards and requirements, and provides a basis for regulation and monitoring – including national and international reporting. Guidelines on how to meet the UKFS requirements are set out in sub-sections covering Biodiversity, Climate Change, Historic Environment, Landscape, People, Soil and Water.

The UK Forestry Standard ePub cover
Download (ePub 22MB)

The UK Forestry Standard PDF cover
Download (PDF 31MB)

The UKFS applies to England, Scotland Wales and Northern Ireland. It applies to all woodland, irrespective of who owns or manages it. The Standard ensures that international agreements and conventions on areas such as sustainable forest management, climate change, biodiversity and the protection of water resources are robustly applied here in the UK.

The Forestry Commission in England and Scotland, Natural Resources Wales and the Northern Ireland Forest Service are the main bodies responsible for implementing the UKFS. These bodies will assess forestry proposals against the Standard before giving approval and carry out checks to ensure it is being complied with. The precise arrangements for implementing and monitoring the Standard will vary between the four countries.

Further reading and useful sources of information are available via the links from this page and the subject specific pages for each element of sustainable forest management. Note that information on individual tree preservation procedures is available in this web-based planning guidance produced by the Department for Communities and Local Government.

Last updated: 7th July 2017