Forestry Commission logo

South West Area

The South West Area comprises the counties of Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, Devon, Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and the West of England.

It is of exceptional landscape quality, encompassing all or part of fourteen AONBs together with Dartmoor and Exmoor National Parks. It contains some 250,000 ha of woodland, of which 17% is owned or managed by the Forestry Commission. 

Of the privately-owned woodland, over 60% is broadleaved, and much is ancient woodland, while about half of the public forest estate is conifer plantation.

Contact Us

Your Local Woodland Officer can assist you with expert advice about managing your woodland, the range of support available and the regulatory processes involved

Grants and Regulations

Grant support, felling and planting permissions, advice and information

Visit a Forestry Commission Woodland

Visit a Forestry Commission woodland near you

Visit all Woodlands

Visit all woodlands near you, including Woodland trust, National Trust and Wildlife Trust woodlands

Pests and Diseases

Tree health, pests and diseases, biosecurity

Forestry and Woodlands Advisory Committees

Members and sectors

Working with Others

Partnerships and projects, case studies, events


Last updated: 6th February 2018
South West region

What's of interest


Sign up for updates on pests and diseases from Forestry Commission England.