Steering committee of the DIAROD COST Action

The Action has a Steering Committee for rapid assessment of key aspects relating to the work of DIAROD; these include choice of meeting venues and dates as well as encouragement and administration of Short Term Scientific Missions.

Chair:  Dr Anna Brown, Centre for Forestry and Climate Change, Forest Research, Alice Holt Lodge, Farnham, Surrey, GU10 4LH
Tel: +44(0)1420 526246

Vice-Chair: Dr Libor Jankovsky, Mendel University in Brno, Faculty of Forestry and Wood Technology, Dept. of Forest Protection and Wildlife Management, Zemedelska 3, 613 00 Brno, Czech Republic

Working Group leaders and deputies

Working Group 1: The pathogen - defining the current disease situation

Leader: Prof. Jan Stenlid Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Department of Forest Mycology and Pathology, SE-75007 Uppsala, Sweden
Tel. 4618671807

Deputy: Dr Irene Barnes, University of Pretoria, Department of Genetics,
Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute (FABI), University of Pretoria,  PRETORIA 0002, South Africa
Tel: +27 12 420 5818

Working Group 2: The environment: determining the risk of DNB

Leader: Prof. Julio J. Diez Casero, University of Valladolid, Plant Production and Forest Resources Department, College of Agricultural Engineering, Campus Yutera Edificio E, Despacho 204, Avenida de Madrid 44, 34071 Palencia, Spain
Tel: (+34)979108420

Deputy: Mr Lindsay Bulman, Scion Research, Forest Biosecurity Unit, Te Papa Tipu Innovation Park, 49 Sala Street, Rotorua 3010, Private Bag 3020, Rotorua 3046, New Zealand
Tel: +64 7 343 5533

Working Group 3: The host: resistance and susceptibility

Leader:  Dr. Steve Woodward, University of Aberdeen, Institute of Biological and Environmental Sciences, Department of Plant and Soil Sciences, Cruickshank Building, St. Machar Drive, Aberdeen, AB24 3UU, Scotland, UK                
Tel: +44 (0)1224 272669

Deputy: Dr Rosie Bradshaw, Institute of Molecular BioSciences, College of Sciences, Massey University, Palmerston North 4442, New Zealand;
Tel: (+64) 6 350 5515 ext 2567

Working Group 4: Identifying research gaps and dissemination

Leader:  Dr Mike Hale, School of the Environment & Natural Resources, College of Natural Sciences, Bangor University, Gwynedd, LL57 2UW, UK;
Tel: +44 (0) 1248 382445

Deputy:  Dr Kath Tubby, Centre for Ecosystems, Society and Biosecurity, Forest Research, Alice Holt Lodge, Farnham, Surrey, GU10 4LH;
Tel: +44(0)1420 22255

Short Term Scientific Mission Manager

Dr Tugba Dogmus Lehtijarvi, Süleyman Demirel University, Faculty of Forestry, Department of Botany, TR32260- Isparta – Turkey;
Tel: +90 246 211 39 61
Mobile: +90 506 578 33 69