Forestry Commission logo

Places to go

1. Ruislip Woods

Ruislip Woods is a group of ancient woodlands managed by the London Borough of Hillingdon.

2. Lesnes Abbey Woods

Lesnes Abbey Woods is a woodland owned and managed by Bexley Council

3. Highgate & Queen’s Woods

Highgate Woods and Queens Wood are two ancient woodlands adjacent to each other in North London. Highgate Woods is managed by the City of London and Queen's Wood by Haringey Council 

4. Birch and Rowdown Woods

Birch and Rowdown Woods are ancient woodlands that are flagship site of the Capital Woodlands Project.

5. Coldfall Woods

Coldfall Woods is an ancient woodland owned and managed by Haringey Council that is one of the Captial Woodlands project flagship sites.

6. Claybury Woods

Claybury Woods is a site that is owned and managed by Redbridge Council and is one of the Capital Woodlands Projects flagship sites

7. Shooters Hill Woods (including Oxleas Wood)

Shooters Hill Woods is a woodland that is owned and managed by Greenwich Council.

8. Scadbury Park

Scadbury Park is one of the Capital Woodlands Projects flagship sites.

9. Morden Park

Morden Park is one of the Capital Woodlands projects flagship sites.

10.  Ruffet and Big Wood

Ruffet and Big Wood are managed by The Woodland Trust and are situated within the London Borough of Sutton.

The above list of woodlands open to visitors in London is changed every six months. If you own a woodland in London and would like it featured here please contact the Forestry Commission’s London Region Office.

If you would like to find a woodland close to where you live in Greater London visit the Mayor of London’s Wildweb site and search for woodlands in your area at