Forestry Commission logo

Regions of Provenance and Native Seed Zones

Regions of Provenance

Great Britain is divided into four regions of provenance. These are defined areas within which similar ecological and climatic characteristics are found. They provide a framework for specifying sources of Forest Reproductive Material (FRM).

Regions of Provenance Map (429k - pdf)

Native Seed Zones

For native species, the regions of provenance have been split into a total of 24 non-statutory native seed zones. Seed zones are in turn divided where appropriate into two altitude zones, below 300 m and above 300 m.

There is a different set of seed zones for native Scots Pine.

Altitude Zone

If the species is native to GB (native seed zones only) a ‘h’ in the code means an altitude greater than 300 m.

Last updated: 11th September 2018