Forestry Commission logo

Categories of Forest Reproductive Material


There are 4 categories of FRM according to the Basic Material from which it is collected.

  • Source-identified (SI)
    Comes from general or specific locations within a single region of provenance or seed zone altitude band in which no specific superior qualities are recognised.
  • Selected (SE)
    Collected from stands showing superior characteristics, e.g. better form, growth rate and health.
  • Qualified (QU)
    Derives from the selection of superior individual trees which have not undergone any form of testing.
  • Tested (TE)
    Derives from the selection of individual trees or stands that have undergone evaluation for genetic quality or have been shown to be superior, in comparison to accepted standards.


Last updated: 8th November 2017