Forestry Commission logo

Discovery Pass

Discover the
freedom of
the forest…
every day of the year…

Get free parking, discounts on events and much more with an annual Discovery Pass

ForestXplorer

The ultimate free guide to our forests

Forest Xplorer running on iPhone and Android devices

Completed Activities

 Completed Activities 2017 - any past activities in 2017 can be repeated if there is sufficient demand.

Completed Activities 2018 include:

  • January
  • Sat 13 January  - Exploring Earthworks at High Lodge
     Conservation work on Sites of Special Scientific Interest at High Lodge
  • Sat 20 January - Discover the Landscape of Warrening Workshop
  • Fri 26 January - Discovering Burial Mounds at High Lodge
  • Sat 27 & Sun 28 January  - Geophysics on the archaeological sit
  • February
  • 10,11,17 & 18 February  - Archaeological Investigation to locate the site of  the warren lodge
  • March
  • Sat 3 March AM - Identifying and processing finds and writing an archaeological report - CANCELLED. New date to be notified.
  • Sat 3 March PM - further investigation of Horseshoe Pit.
  • Sat 17 March - The Origins of the Flint Mines at High Lodge
  • Sun 18 March - Conservation work on the SPA Habitat
  • Fri 30 March - Community monitoring of earthwork sites
  • April
  • Sun 15 April - improving the habitat for the Great Crested Newt. FOTF Conservation task - see www.fotf.org.uk
  • Sat 21 April - How to identify tree species and veteran trees
  • Fri 27 April -  How to identify birds of High Lodge and Thetford Forest 
  • May
  • Wed 9 May - Exploring Trackways and Historic Routes around High Lodge 
  • Thurs 24 May - Origins of flint mines at High Lodge
    Tues 29 May - Investigation of farmhouse site at High Lodge
  • June 
    Fri 1 June - Processing and identifying Archaeological Finds
    Wed 20 June - How to identify plants of High Lodge and Thetford Forest
  • July
  • Wed 11 July - How to identify butterflies, moths and insects
  • Tues 17 July - Drawing and Painting in the Forest
  • Fri 20 July - Revealing the Secrets of High Lodge Field

Some workshops can be repeated if there is enough interest. Please use the highlodgefeedback@forestry.gsi.gov.uk email to make a request.

Last updated: 27th July 2018

Help us take care of your forest

Location

OS Grid ref: TL807864
Postcode: IP27 0AF

Get directions

Contact

High Lodge Thetford Forest

0300 067 4400
highlodgefeedback@­forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification certifiedForest Stewardship Council certified

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.