Forestry Commission logo

Discovery Pass

Discover the
freedom of
the forest…
every day of the year…

Get free parking, discounts on events and much more with an annual Discovery Pass

ForestXplorer

The ultimate free guide to our forests

Forest Xplorer running on iPhone and Android devices

Arts at Dalby – Wahaha Biota by Helen Sear

Helen Sear‘If the trees in the forest could utter vibrations absorbed over time, they might resemble the sound track for Wahaha Biota‘ – Helen Sear 

Renowned international artist Helen Sear is Dalby’s first ever artist in residence, as part of our developing arts programme. 

Over the past year, Helen has worked on a new video and sound work commissioned in partnership with Crescent Arts  as part of Forest Art Works. Wahaha Biota will launch on Saturday 5 May 2018 and the exhibition will run until Sunday 10 June for public viewing.

Helen’s work explores the crossover between photography and fine art, and her focus on the co-existence of the human, animal, and natural worlds. Her work challenges accepted notions of photography as a documentary and creative medium. ‘Biota’ is the animal and plant life of a particular region, habitat, or geological period. 

From the planting of trees to their processing in the saw mill, Helen followed and filmed the management of the forest environment, combining the industry of wood production with leisure activities. 

Helen also led a sound workshop here, resulting in a ‘dawn chorus of human voices set in a forest clearing’. Calls and whispers mingle with birdsong and barking deer to create a lyrical cycle of intense sound and imagery that explores our relationship with the forest. 

A selection of Helen’s work produced for the 2015 Venice Biennale will also provide a strong focus of the exhibitions at Dalby Forest, Ryedale Folk Museum and Crescent Arts in Scarborough in May 2018.

Wahaha Biota, Video Still, Helen Sear

 

 

 

Event details

When is the event?

Wednesday 23 May 2018 (more dates available)

What time is it on?

11:00a.m. to 4:00p.m. daily

Where to meet?

Dalby Courtyard

Dogs Allowed:

no
 

Event dates

Wednesday 23 May 2018
Thursday 24 May 2018
Friday 25 May 2018
Saturday 26 May 2018
Sunday 27 May 2018
Monday 28 May 2018
Tuesday 29 May 2018
Wednesday 30 May 2018
Thursday 31 May 2018
Friday 1 June 2018
Saturday 2 June 2018
Sunday 3 June 2018
Monday 4 June 2018
Tuesday 5 June 2018
Wednesday 6 June 2018
Thursday 7 June 2018
Friday 8 June 2018
Saturday 9 June 2018
Sunday 10 June 2018

What's Here?

  • Arts

Location

OS Grid ref: SE855878
Postcode: YO18 7LT

Get directions

Contact

Yorkshire Forest District
Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification certifiedenjoy England quality assured visitor attractionForest Stewardship Council certified

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.