Your comments

5 Stars 5 Stars

My children got muddy and exhausted on their visit on Saturday. Perfect day out! There was enough to keep them busy all day and the staff were super friendly. Thank you!

The Bickerstaffs, 25/Aug/2015

Thank you, hope to see you back in the forest for more adventures soon!

Forestry Commission Response

Why are there grey squirrels at the osprey view point and to whom do we report them

Anonymous, 24/Aug/2015

There is still a healthy population of red squirrels at Dodd Wood but there are also grey squirrels in the area. Sightings of grey squirrels should be reported to Fran Foster, the squirrel ranger for our area. Either e-mail greycontrol@hotmail.co.uk or call 07733 970124 Red Squirrels Northern England is a red squirrel conservation partnership working right across northern England to maintain red squirrel range through landscape scale grey squirrel control and applied conservation science. For more information visit www.rsne.org.uk

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

fab time here came on Friday terrible rainy day, so went plodging on the gruffalo trail and superworm with our 3yr old boy and our springer , then went into the kids play adventure park , fantastic ! our son loved the whole thing ,staff in visitor crt very friendly and helpful thanks for making our visit a great visit . ;-)

Sean, 17/Aug/2015

Thanks Sean, great to hear you all had fun in the forest.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Had a fantastic, if a little soggy time at Whinlatter today - doing the forest Segway with Megan! Can't thank you enough for the patience and reassurance! We both had a fab time and would recommend it to anyone! You're a credit to Whinlatter and anyone that can stil have a huge grin on their faces through the pooring rain and not let that reflect on our experience is a star in my eyes!!!! Thank You!

Lucie Irwin , 14/Aug/2015

Thanks for your feedback, glad to hear the weather didn't spoil your forest adventure!

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Had another great day here. Your maps used to show 2 off-road cycle routes (not the current MTB ones). One went by post 27, and the other by 11 and 40. You have not shown these for a few years, so is it still OK to generally cycle in the forest?

Peter, 1/Jul/2015

You are still very welcome to cycle in the forest using the forest road network but we don't have any waymarked routes on the forest roads at present. The forest roads are shown on our cycling map as thick white lines so you'll need to create your own route to explore the forest. If you'd like any help with this please get in touch with Visitor Information on site who will be happy to help. 017687 78469 or whinlatter@forestry.gsi.gov.uk You can download the current map from the right hand side of this web page.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I wonder if a pair of specs in a shiny red case were left in the shop earlier today (Thursday)? Excellent visit - great food in the cafe and the osprey exhibition was just as good as we hoped.

Pauline Heatherington, 11/Jun/2015

We have a few pairs of glasses in lost property but none in a red case I'm afraid! Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Forestry Commission Response

We was thinking about visiting but we are a Family and have a young child ages 2 who goes on the back of my MTB we have cycled around Ennerdale but not sure if there would be any tracks suitable ?? please can you let us know Many thanks

Paul, 10/Jun/2015

Hi, Our waymarked MTB routes are single track and wouldn't be suitable for your situation. However we do have an extensive network of forest roads that are open to cyclists, you can download our map from the website and plan a route to suit your family. Just be aware that as we are a mountain forest most of these routes would involve some climbing! The Revelin Moss area is the gentlest. Visitor Information would be very happy to help you plan a route, either give them a call on 017687 78469 or e-mail whinlatter@forestry.gsi.gov.uk Alternatively, Grizedale Forest has a good network of waymarked routes using their forest roads that aren't so steep.

Forestry Commission Response
2 Stars 2 Stars

We came to Winlatter over the w-end of the 30/31May 2015 & I was quite saddened by the rudeness of the cyclists that were using pathway meant for pedestrians, being a disabled & Deaf person that can't hear the cyclists coming I was deeply upset by the use of bad language where there was also children present, I feel it is up to the Forestry Commission to advise cyclists that there are other people using the facilities as well as themselves there is no need for this rudeness and a little bit of understanding could go along way they should be by laws to protect pedestrians as well as cyclists and if cyclists are seen being rude to pedestrians or other people using the facilities something should be said there was also a large number of cyclists racing around in the car park at excessive speed I feel it will only be a matter of time before there is a serious accident, to a pedestrian or cyclist they showed absolutely no respect for drivers backing in or out of spaces I hope these comments will be taken on board and I hope you will post it I don't know when we will return to Winlatter as I was quite saddened by the attitude of cyclists and have some member of staff when this was pointed out to them let's hope if we return the Forestry Commission, at least put some signs up warning pedestrians and cyclists to be aware of their surroundings thank you.

Lancelot , 1/Jun/2015

As this is a recurring problem, the red walking arrow has now been taken off the waymarker post that is misleading and has been placed on the other side. So from a mountain bikers prespective they should see the single Altura arrow and this is further enforce by another post 15 metres away. Hopefully that should reduce the number of riders being misled. We are sorry to hear that the you had an unfortunate incident with the cyclist(s), who from what I hear was not considerate to other users. At the trailhead entrance there is a sign about the map and forest code, respecting other users etc. As for cyclist behaviour around the car park, we hope this was a one off incident.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We visited on the 7th April and loved it. Did a fairly easy walk as I have been ill recently with a back problem & really did me the power of good! Called in at the cafe for food & staff and service excellent, as was the food. We also sat and watched the osprey cam. and the lady gave us lots of information about the osprey & was very clued up. We had a very nice day here and can't wait to come back when hopefully I can take on a more challenging walk!!

Anonymous, 10/May/2015

I am a frequent visitor to Whinlatter as I live locally but I have found that is a very expensive place to park and while you have made more parking spaces (presumably to make more money) the facilities particularly the caf are now too small. I was there the other day and paid for 4hrs parking and had to leave early because the caf was overcrowded(went to C/mouth for food) and some MTB trails were virtually shut, so please reduce the parking fees or have a reduced season ticket for us poor locals no wonder there is so many cars on the side of the road.

Martin Attwood, 5/May/2015

Hi, is the gruffalo sculpture present all year round? We are hoping to visit in early May.

Many thanks

Anonymous, 8/Apr/2015

Hi, Yes, the Gruffalo is here to stay! He's just had a makeover so is back in tip top condition. You can follow a waymarked trail of 1.2 miles from the Visitor Centre which is a little hilly but suitable for pushchairs. You can pick up spotter sheets from Visitor Information to keep your little ones occupied on the walk. We've also got a Superworm activity trail in the forest available through to October. Please call Visitor Information on 017687 78469 if you'd like any more help planning your visit.

Forestry Commission Response

After visiting Coed y Brenin, Grizedale, Cannock chase, Forest of Dean and more we expected similar from Whinlatter. The shop was nice with helpful staff. The parking was good and easy. The play and discovery areas were excellent.

The cafe however.... it was no more busy as I have seen any of the other centres cafe however as it appeared totally dis-organised we were in for a full hour long wait for a baked spud, panini and salad... the staff were cueing to use the til to ring orders through causing a cue right around the cafe... there were piles of finished with trays and plates waiting to be cleared when they were they were only piled up at the serving hatch...when our food did arrive it was wrong. Great centre. Good trails. Just give the cafe a miss drive down to Keswick for lunch you will be eating quicker!

Anonymous, 6/Apr/2015
5 Stars 5 Stars

The trail route was brilliant and the boy loved meeting The Gruffalo.

Only downside was being harassed immediately upon entering the caf after our trip about putting our pushchair down. We had literally just stepped in the place when the guy was on our back.

Other than that we really enjoyed it.

Anonymous, 9/Mar/2015

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We take the service provided by our onsite businesses very seriously and will ensure the issue you have raised is addressed. If you enjoyed the Gruffalo trail, you might like to visit us again to try out our new Superworm activity trail, starting on 13th March.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We were at whinlatter forest on Saturday 28th February, the last day of the gruffalo trail and had an absolutely fantastic day out with the family. But unfortunately our 2 year old son lost his toy gruffalo :-( and is very upset about being parted from his wee pal as are we.

... by any chance did some kind citizen happen to stumble across it and hand it in?

Gill mcquade, 1/Mar/2015

I'm afraid no lost Gruffalos have emerged from the woods but we will keep our eyes peeled when we're out in the forest and be in touch if he turns up. Glad to hear you had fun on the trail, you might like our new Superworm trail that starts on Friday 13 March.

Forestry Commission Response

Hi we have a holiday booked in the lakes from the 27th december 2015 until 3rd january 2016 just wondering what activities would be available then?

my grandsons would love the go ape,they are 16 15 and 13 years old.

thank you ann

ann, 22/Feb/2015

Our GoApe course closes every winter so unfortunately won't be available at the time of your visit. However, we have great mountain biking routes and walking trails that are open all year round. Cyclewise are our onsite bike shop and offer bike hire as well as skills training sessions. Cyclewise are closed on 1 Jan. Maps for biking and walking are available to download from the links on the right of this web page. If you'd like any further help planning your visit please call Visitor Information on 017687 78469.

Forestry Commission Response
3 Stars 3 Stars

It Would be great if you could put the info about winter opening hours for the cafe, and the fact that it is now closed, on the website. Information about the road closures would also be useful. I visited this morning with my son, baby and dog and approached from the Braithwaite side. I'd checked the website before leaving. I parked where the road was closed (i didn't know it would be) and decided to walk up to the cafe, where I could feed both children, then head back. A sign at that point saying the cafe is closed would also be useful! I walked the couple of miles up to the visitor centre with a two yr old on my back and 7 week old on my from only to find it all closed - I was knackered and just a bit disappointed!

Thanks

Sarah

(This would have been my first visit with my Discovery pass, received recently - some info could also have been sent with that maybe?)

Sarah Lenehan, 19/Jan/2015

Hi Sarah, Sorry to hear of your difficulties. We do have information posted on the website to cover most of the points you raise. This is in the yellow latest news box at the top of the homepage under the heading 'Closures Due to Felling Work'. We try to communicate site information to as many visitors as possible with signage on site, social media channels etc, but appreciate that it isn't always possible to reach everyone. We will take your suggestion regarding e-mailing Discovery Pass holders on board for future closures. The access road and all businesses on site will be fully open from 24th January so we hope to welcome you back soon.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fabulous day! Views incredible on more strenuous walk. Even saw a roe deer! Don't be put off if car park is busy. You can easily get away from it all. Would highly recommend.

P and G, 29/Oct/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fab day out. So much to do for all ages. Play areas are great fun and kept my 5 year old entertained for hours. My 15, 14 and 11 year old loved Go Ape, we had a lovely walk and picnic on squirrel trail. We are on our way back to try the mountain bike trail next week :)

Sarah , 16/Aug/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Great place for mountain biking. Beautiful forest. Very highly recommended!

filipino baguio, 15/Aug/2014
3 Stars 3 Stars

You need more sign posts and arrows telling you which way to go. Went up to Seat How and made two long detours trying to get back to the Visitor Center... ended up at marker 19 - so we just went back to our hotel instead of at the cafe.

Anonymous, 20/Jul/2014

Thanks for taking the time to get in touch and sorry to hear of your difficulties. We haven't experienced this problem before but we are about to replace all our waymarkers so the route should be clearer with the new sign posts.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We have the best time whether mountain biking or walking through the forest brill place to visit if you love the outdoors and don't mind getting muddy. ..

helen, 8/Jul/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

We had a great day out, beautifully kept forest, highly recommend

Philip liscombe, 23/May/2014
2 Stars 2 Stars

The Gruffalo trail is very disappointing there's not much for children to see or do. I had heard mixed reports but though I would go and have a look but I feel it needs improving. We didn't walk to the end of the trail but of what we did see which was very little I felt it was a disappointment.

Anonymous, 14/May/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

Lovely site, but why are there no bins for dog waste?

Anonymous, 9/May/2014

We do have signs on the general waste bins around the Visitor Centre asking visitors to place bagged dogged waste in those. We don't have bins in the wider forest as we want to prevent urbanisation of the areas away from the Visitor Centre.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I may have lost my camera on 05/05/2014. its an "Oympus" many thanks to your rangers for trying to find my son

ron w whitcomb, 8/May/2014

The link to your site Accessibility information seems to be broken. Can you fix it?

Rachel Thomas, 2/May/2014

Thanks for letting us know about this, the link is now fixed.

Forestry Commission Response
2 Stars 2 Stars

We went to the Gruffalo trail on Wednesday (16th April). It was really disappointing and not a gruffalo in sight! The activities back at the visitor centre were nowhere near as good as the Stickman trail, and the trail itself was very long for children who would be interest in the Gruffalo. We love Whinlatter so this was a real shame . I've seen photos of people who've been in the last couple of days and it looks like character pictures have been put up to make it more interesting. Maybe the trail shouldn't have been opened until it was ready!

Arabella Mooney, 19/Apr/2014

Thank you for getting in touch, we value your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Gruffalo Trail. The trails are designed to be self-led with Gruffalo themed activities to try out as a family on the way, along with introducing children to some of things you can find in the forest. The route was chosen for it’s gentle gradient compared with other routes in the forest and to give regular visitors a new area of the forest to explore. A giant, life sized Gruffalo will be coming to live in Whinlatter from his birthday on 7th June.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

This is a great place for mountain biking, both the cycle cycle trails are extremely good. I liked the red one very much because of the best view points over the lake district. You can see for miles when coming down from the red trail. I will be coming back in summer to do it all again. I had so much fun here on my bike. I would highly recommend here for a day out

charlie howard, 30/Mar/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Just had fantastic morning with grandchildren. Can't wait for the Gruffalo trail. Car parking fees well worth the money, you get so much enjoyment from play areas, biking trails and walking trails for little cost.

Sue Bell, 26/Mar/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

We have just had the most fantastic day out at Whinlatter. I too find the comments about the parking unfair - we spent all day there, biking and in the AMAZING adventure park and didn't spend another penny (apart from on cake!). My 2 year old, 4 year old, husband and I had a great time and to me it is clear where the money is going, into the great facilities. Thank you!

Helen, 17/Mar/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

THE BAD COMMENTS ABOUT PARKING CHARGES ARE UNJUST THE PARK IS FREE ITS GOOD VALUE

T GRIFFITHS, 27/Feb/2014

Forestry work today 25/02/2014 at Whinlatter. No problem has to be done BUT no signs in the car park which indicate virtually all the routes inaccessible. The signs only appear where the work begins however they all say about the bike routes being rerouted and closed, nothing about the walking routes. No indication as to how long the work will be for? Luckily I am local and no other places to walk the dog, but twice I met the same couple who were trying to walk from Thornthwaite to the visitor centre, they could not find a route clearly marked to the visitor centre, only no entry signs and bike reroutes.

Anonymous, 25/Feb/2014

Thanks for your feedback. We have had information next to the car park machines since the work began, explaining the closures and diversions. We have waymarked a new temporary walking trail starting at the Visitor Centre to compensate for the closures. We appreciate your comments about accessing from Thornthwaite and will address this. We hope to have the work completed by the end of March.

Forestry Commission Response

Have to agree with mr Griggs, parking charges are expensive ■6.90 all day compared to FC Scotland ■3 all day. Whinlatter is always busy so you must be making a killing!

BC, 2/Feb/2014

I am sorry you find our parking charge so high. It is very important to provide Whinlatter with an income from our car parks to help maintain and improve all the facilities you enjoy on your visit. We benchmark our charges against others in the local area including the National Trust and the National Park and feel our charges are consistent with these organisations. Forestry Commission England is committed to protecting and expanding England's forests and woodlands, and increasing their value to society and the environment.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Hi, visited last weekend because the weather was just too gruesome to take the children up the mountains. The cafe was excellent (a bird ID card at the table would have been great!), the staff friendly and the cake very tasty. The weather brightened and we played on the children's playground and had a tramp through the woods. It was all brilliant! Loved the playground, lots of interesting things to do especially the Archimedes screw and the bendy slide and the woods were great. We'll definitely come again. Thanks for creating such an amazing place.

Jo Green, 27/Jan/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Parking to expensive! As a local OAP who used to visit whinlatter for walking expeditions on a regular bassis I now go elswhere. Shame. Is there any senior citizen discount for parking pass?

Mr M Griggs, 21/Jan/2014

Your money for parking will go directly towards the upkeep of Whinlatter forest and to maintaining and improving the facilities that you use on your visit. The parking charge you pay along with rents from businesses and sale of timber provide the majority of our funding. This funding allows the Forestry Commission to sustainably manage land for conservation, timber production, heritage and for you to enjoy. Alternatively you could support the forest by buying a Discovery Pass, giving year round free parking, seasonal newsletters and a range of great discounts on and off site. For more information, visit www.forestry.gov.uk/forestry/INFD-7W5kfl We don’t offer a senior citizen discount for our Discovery Pass. We do also provide free car parking at Noble Knott, Masmill and Hobcarton. Blue badge holders park for free in any car park.

Forestry Commission Response

Is it possible to hire a bike to cycle on the wider walking trails in the forest? This is for a partially sighted person who could not manage the narrow mountain bike trails.

Sheila Plumbe, 10/Jan/2014

Hi Sheila, You can hire bikes from Cyclewise and cycle on any of the forest roads. Whilst there aren't any waymarked routes that use the network of forest roads, maps are available to download from our website or the Visitor Information (017687 78469 option 1) on site will be happy to suggest routes. Cycling is not allowed on the waymarked walking routes.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We regularly visit and always have an amazing time whatever the weather. My youngest is 2 and even he loves it here. The children's walks are easy for all ages and the kids love using the map and answering the questions on the way round. The children's play areas are amazing even I get to join in. We always have hours of fun even if it is pouring with rain. Really recommend this for a fun filled family day out! Love this place. Also very dog friendly.

Jane, 12/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fantastic place for children me and my husband have 3 and they had endless fun unspoilt scenery a really lovely place me and my husband also did the go ape adventure on a different day the children went old enough and the course is brilliant real laugh fantastic day out lovely little shop we only bought drinks from the cafe as we had already eaten and the cafe was so full I can imagine a slight wait for your food but we definitely will be visiting again!

Carly, 4/Sep/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fantastic place for children me and my husband have 3 and they had endless fun unspoilt scenery a really lovely place me and my husband also did the go ape adventure on a different day the children went old enough and the course is brilliant real laugh fantastic day out lovely little shop we only bought drinks from the cafe as we had already eaten and the cafe was so full I can imagine a slight wait for your food but we definitely will be visiting again!

Carly, 4/Sep/2013
1 Star 1 Star

Great place but visit spoiled by excessively slow service in the cafe, we waited 1hr 40 min for soup and a sandwich. Please sort out the organisation or recruit more staff.

Kevin, 15/Aug/2013

Thank you for your feedback, we have passed your comments to the company that run the cafe.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I visit whinlatter forest all the time and me my wife and daughter all love it. We always climb up to lords seat and finish with my daughter playing on the park. My best part is the forest itself and the wildlife

alan day, 13/Aug/2013

I spotted a grey squirrel crossing the road close to "Woodlands" house, on the way up to Whinlatter from Braithwaite. It was Quite small, and therefore likely to be a youngster. Hope this info. Is useful.

Tom Chatterley, 21/Jul/2013

Thank you, we will pass this on to the squirrel ranger. Any future sightings can be reported to Fran Foster, greycontrol@hotmail.co.uk

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I went with my class from Quernmore for the day. The views were amazing and the play area for children was brilliant. One of my favourite school trips ever. It was well worth the long coach journey.

Lydia , 9/Jun/2013

Mountain biking trails a very good. Don't be put off by the blue being foe kids its fast flowing and well worth 20 minutes

David Kelly, 2/Jun/2013
2 Stars 2 Stars

Yesterday I made a 250-mile round trip to walk to Lord's Seat from the Whinlatter Pass - only to find that you had closed the path! If you must do this, could you give notice on the website please?

A Walker, 8/May/2013

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We had to close the trail at very short notice after being allocated a slot for a helicopter to lift 60 tonnes of stone for trail repairs. We will endeavour to give advance warning of future closures!

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

this park is amazing so i choose to do my leaflet on it for school it was homework i only wish you had a trail map online.

shannon 2457, 25/Nov/2012
5 Stars 5 Stars

Amazing cycling routes, blue one harder than expected but great fun, wouldnt recommend it to non mountain bikers. The red South loop is a bit complicated but my dad and I climbed for 50 minutes to get to the summit, which gives you incredible views, then had 25 minutes of complicated awesome downhill track which really gets the adrenaline pumping! Had a few close calls but thats what mountain bikings about!

James Scott, 28/Oct/2012
5 Stars 5 Stars

Brilliant site with amazing playground that takes ages to try all the bits, GoApe, osprey nest and a cool bike trail. Awesome day out up a mountain.

Jenna, 12/Oct/2012