3 Stars 3 Stars

As a walker with a dog I find Dalby lacking in quality forest walks away from the sound of cars and not carved up by cycle paths.

g shaw, 8/Dec/2014

Hello, thank you for your feedback about walking trails at Dalby. Dalby has 11 dedicated walks within the forest. The quieter walks are toward Crosscliff and Bickely Gate, maps are available from the Visitor Centre. Many thanks

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

This is a 5 star place to visit but only if you do not have a young child/baby that needs changing. The fact that i had to change my baby son in a smelly disabled toilet in the visitors centre is a joke when compared to the price of parking in the forest. Also the fact there is only one changing room/toilet when the majority of people wwho go had young children is shocking. Luckily i didnt have to queue unlike the 4 people waiting behind me or he would have been changed in the cafe!

All other aspects of our day at dalby, brilliant!!

daniel george, 17/Nov/2014

Hello, thank you for the comments about your recent visit to Dalby. We check the WC facilities frequently, however if you find that they need attention please let a member of staff know and we will attend to it. We will also be installing baby changing facilities into the Ladies and Gents toilets. Many thanks.

Forestry Commission Response

Please could you give me some info on the best place to park our horse trailer and take our horses on a fairly easy ride. We have not ridden in Dalby forest before. Many thanks

Aud, 5/Nov/2014

Hello, thank you for your enquiry about horse riding in Dalby. We recommend that you park at Adderstone Field, which is about 6 miles along the forest drive from the entrance at Pexton Moor. At the moment we do not have a way marked horse trail, although this is something we are looking at. You are welcome to use the forest roads and bridleways within the forest. Many thanks

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I used to visit Dalby regularly as a child and now we have children of our own it is a great place to visit for all ages - we love walking around Brimham Rocks. We visited a couple of weeks ago and at first I was quite taken aback by the ■7 charge however, we think it is good value for money considering the amount of facilities there are and the high maintenance of the area. We took a picnic and used the walking trails, playgrounds etc - there are not many places you can go to spend the day for only ■7! Maybe a slightly reduced winter rate would be good as obviously some activities etc are not available?

Yes you could take part in the paid activities and visit the lovely cafe but this is not compulsory for a great day out.

Trudi, 16/Oct/2014

Hello, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Dalby. There is a reduced winter charge of £4 from November to February.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

We took our horses there for a sponsored horse/bike ride which was very well organised. Goid parking for horse trailers & routes well marked. Why can we not find any information on how/where to ride our horses any other time at Dalby Forest as with cars & roads becoming more dangerous for horse riders it seems a shame that we cannot access our beautiful forests on horseback like cyclists can.

Dalby is fantastic for children and I take my 3 children to the park regurarly throught the year for walks & picnics.

Anonymous, 29/Sep/2014

Hello, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the horse event at Dalby. You are welcome to ride your horse here again, we recommend that you park at Adderstone Field as there is plenty of space for large vehicles to park there.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Been up in dalby today trails in great condition with autumn sunshine!

Bryden, 26/Sep/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Brilliant we come to dalby at least a couple of times a month but the cafe is not as nice as it was upstairs, slow service due to only one person being able to be served at a time, seating cramped and uncomfortable.

Anonymous, 19/Sep/2014

Hello, I am please to hear that you are a regular visitor to Dalby. I am sorry that you were disappointed by your visit to the cafe, we monitor the length of queues and have extra staff working on busy days. Did you know that there is additional cafe seating near the exhibition area?

Forestry Commission Response

I have booked go ape do we still have to pay on the toll road. Thanks

Lynn Lawn, 8/Sep/2014

Hello, yes the admission fee applies if you are going to Go Ape. I hope you enjoy your treetime!

Forestry Commission Response

Iam staying at High Rigg Farm is it far to walk to Bridstone car park With thanks

Lynn Lawn, 8/Sep/2014

Hello, High Rigg Farm is about 3.5 miles away from the Bridestone car park, I hope you enjoy your stay.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

7 year olds birthday party at go ape today. Had a fab time and all enjoyed ourselves. Great place for a day out, really good kids park too which the kids loved to round the day off.

Helen, 30/Aug/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

I have been to dalby twice now for the cycle trails and they are good fun but somewhat long but that's great if you want a good workout. My only criticism is that at ■7 I think its pretty expensive and more expensive than any other forestry commission place that I have been to. I think ■5 would be a fair price especially as there is no reduced price for a shorter stay.

Chris G, 15/Aug/2014

Hello, thanks for your feedback about Dalby. I’m glad to hear that the cycling trails give you a workout! The admission charge goes towards the maintenance and development of the facilities within Dalby. The charge is reduced to £4 after 4pm and you can get a yearly pass for £42. Once again, thanks for the feedback.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

First time visitors to Dalby Forest and I would like to say thank you to all the staff who were so friendly and welcoming. You have a jewel in the crown with such a fantastic park, good catering, very clean amenities, a great outdoor park and sitting area. The nature trails, cycle ways and go ape are excellent. Keep up the good work and we will be back. My children have raved about their visit. I only wish we has such an outstanding and accessible asset on our doorstep.

Mr Carrruthers, 12/Aug/2014

Hello, thanks for the feedback, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Dalby, I hope we'll see you again soon.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

I visited last week to try out the MTB trails for the first time. Excellent, loved every second. Unfortunately my ride was cut short by an accident but I will definitelt be back when I am healed.

Many thanks to the staff for keeping my bike secure until I was able to go back and collect it.

Martin, Sheffield, 11/Aug/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Love the new playground & great the cafe is now downstairs, outside eating area fantastic.

But you need some outside bins. Love the wood carvings.

Back tomorrow for the new junior go ape. :)

Anonymous, 5/Aug/2014

Hello, thanks for the feedback about Dalby, we have bins near the outside seat area, this includes general waste and recycling facilities. I hope that you enjoyed Treetop Junior!

Forestry Commission Response

Hi, could you tell me if there are shower and changing facilities in the Visitor Centre? Many thanks.

Andy, 5/Aug/2014

Hello, thanks for your enquiry about shower and changing facilities at Dalby. Unfortunately we do not currently have showers, however we would like to develop this facility in the future. Thank you

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Paid my annual visit to Dalby yesterday. Was very dissapointed to see the shop in the visitors centre was no more. I can understand the need for more dining, but I always purchased from the shop. Must say on a positive note, the kids enjoyed the upgraded adventure playground.

Anonymous, 2/Aug/2014

Hello, thank you for the feedback about your recent visit to Dalby Forest. The shop closed in autumn last year. We are exploring the option of working in partnership with a third party to provide a retail opportunity in Dalby Visitor Centre. It’s great to hear that the kids enjoyed the new play area.

Forestry Commission Response

Just thought I needed to comment on my visit to dalby forest today. It is the first time we have been to dalby forest, although it rained we had a lovely day, Nice walk and then had lunch at the cafe, i had a croque Monsieur and my husband had a goats cheese salad and after we had a rosemary sponge and a choc & chilli cake, Great find on our hols will be returning soon.x

carol squires, 13/Jul/2014

Hi, how much is camping for four adults two children

Rob, 8/Jul/2014

Hello, thanks for your enquiry about camping at Dalby. We have 2 privately run campsites in Dalby Forest. Pexton Moor Farm, please call 01751 460 294, and High Rigg Farm, please call 01751 460269 for more information.

Forestry Commission Response

Great website with so much info, however I don't seem to be able to find any information on your policy regarding dogs. Can I bring my dog and are there any restrictions as to where I can take my dog?

Visitor to Yorkshire, 26/Jun/2014

Hello, thanks for your question about dogs in our forests. You’re welcome to bring your dog for a walk in Dalby, we would ask that you keep them on a lead around the car park and Visitor Centre. For more information about bringing your dog into the woods please go to http://www.forestry.gov.uk/dogs

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fantastic place to visit even better than I remembered! I used to come as a child and returned over the weekend 16 years later with my fianc■. Only to meet lovely staff and the 'boss' who was charming helpful especially after we had trouble with the parking meters. The place has undergone a lot of change and improvement since I last visited which has made it even more of a great day out with loads to do but not upsetting the beauty and peace of the forest. We love it so much we plan to get married in the forest after seeing a poster we are so pleased we have the option of this as always wanted a unique wedding. We will be back time & go and want to visit the Go Ape attraction too! Thanks Rebecca

Rebecca, 23/Jun/2014

how much is mtb cycle hire for the day please?

Anonymous, 17/Jun/2014

Hello, thanks for your enquiry about cycle hire at Dalby Forest. The rate depends on how long you would like to hire the bike for 1.5hours is £15, 3 hrs is £23 and a full day is £29. For more information please call Dalby Bike Barn on 01751 460049.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

Fantastic place - loads to do - great for all ages. One improvement though would be to do an annual pass serving all the venues around the country

Vicky, 26/May/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

fantastic place and staff are lovely

julia, 10/May/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Amazing place to visit, the tracks and facilities were brilliant. I would recommend this forest to anyone who enjoys exercise and mountain biking.

Ben, 4/May/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

This is a good place to go on a day out. The bike trails are extremely good. I liked the red trail very much. The only 2 things I would change would be reduce the car parking price because its a bit expensive if you are just coming to do the bike trails. You have to really spend nearly all day here to get your money worth because its ■7 entry. Which I think is a lot of money. The other thing is if they could do I national discovery pass for all of the forest so you could go all over with it. It would bd a great deal for everyone. Then more people are able to visit different forests in different areas.

charlie howard, 21/Apr/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

Love the forest and visit regularly. In my opinion cycle trails are well catered for. I would like to see more walking trails so we can enjoy the peace and quiet of the forest away from cars and cyclists.

G, 20/Apr/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Had a brill time at Dalby Activity Centre. Managed to win the boys at archery, but they got their own back when we did paintballing. Fantastic staff, great cup of tea yummy cookies. Certainly worth a visit. Can be found just past dixons hollow on the right

Sally, 7/Apr/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

Great place to visit. The season ticket is great value, I've held one for about 5 years now. I do agree that walking seems to take a back seat to cycling though, much as I love both. A heartfelt thanks too for letting us rally spectators enjoy the Forest too, thank-you.

Anonymous, 30/Mar/2014
5 Stars 5 Stars

Love Dalby for both walking and cycling. Do both regularly and think the routes, trails and facilities are fantastic. Absolutely one of my favourite places anywhere!

Aidan, 8/Feb/2014

Great Bike trails. Kept separate from walkers to avoid confrontation.

Peter Revy, 3/Feb/2014
4 Stars 4 Stars

Hi we have been regular 'season ticket holders' for nearly 20 years now but I just find that the forest is being handed over more and more to cyclists. We walk for miles with our dog but have to constantly look over our shoulders, even on obscure walks just in case the cycles are bearing down on us. Even the detailed walking guides that you used to produce have been replaced with cycle routes. We feel pushed out when we bring just as much income in. More dedicated walking please Dalby.

Janet B, 5/Dec/2013

Hello, thank you for the comments about your experience at Dalby Forest. Dalby is enjoyed by both walkers and cyclists, we encourage different user groups to be considerate towards each other, so that we can all enjoy the forest. Dalby has 12 walking routes; maps for these are available from the Information Point.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

i love dalby because i can sit on the swings it was fun and i like the gift shop because mum bought me a stick

Harvey Hobnob Carrot , 25/Nov/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

I love dalby and want to visit as much as possible is there a dalby bus for us old folk p.s loving the scones by the way

VC, 18/Nov/2013

It’s great to hear that you enjoy spending time at Dalby. The forest used to be part of the Moorbus route which was run by the North Yorkshire Moors National Park. Unfortunately this bus service will not be running in 2014. However, there is a regular bus service to Thornton Dale, from there you could walk up the Ellerburn Valley to the Visitor Centre (approx 3.5miles).

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

We had a lovely day on Remembrance Sunday, attending the dedication of the statue to commemorate the work of the Women's Timber Corps in WW2. Mum was thrilled that she and the other Lumberjills had been remembered. The staute is fantastic and in such a beautiful location. From all of the Hollands, thank you!

The Holland Family, 13/Nov/2013

@joefrankish i agree with your coments with the green route being tiresome and as i was on my very exoensive bike i road over a shard of glass sticking out of the floor which caused me to fall off puncturing my tire and badly bruising my elbow, which i can now not play on my Xbox with. Dalby Forest I WANT ANSWERS !

Emile H, 11/Nov/2013

Hello, thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to Dalby. We regularly inspect the trails however, it would find it very useful to know which section of the green cycle route had glass on it, so that we can make sure it is removed as soon as possible, please call the Yorkshire District on 01751 472 771 to let us know. Many thanks.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

DALBY FOREST WAS THE BEST THING EVER. WE KNEW EVERY BIKE TRAIL NOW I CAN'T REMEMBER THINK IT WHEN OH OH OH THINK YEAH YEAH THINK IT WENT OOOOH. BEST FOREST EVER

Tom Meagher, 5/Nov/2013
1 Star 1 Star

when on one of the walks i was confronted by a farmer who, as i walked by, hurled abuse at me for walking across his field. When i questioned him about his outrage he told me to take it up with Dalby Forest, i am thoroughly disappointed and expect a response to this comment

Sam Tuft , 4/Nov/2013

Hello, I am sorry that you had such an upsetting experience at Dalby. It would be very useful to know which walk you were doing so that I can understand more about what happened. Please call the Yorkshire District Office on 01751 472 771 and we will be able to assist you further.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

dalby is amazing and blew me away, the veiw were right good and as Ghandi once said "dalby forest is beast!"

Bob , 4/Nov/2013
2 Stars 2 Stars

I visited Dalby Forest last June. I thought it was bad value for money (toll of 10 pounds as far as I remember). The scenery was far superior once we exited the forest at the other end. What was most frustrating was that there were only two public conveniences in the Forest and one was out of action. This was particularly frustrating for my mother who is 80.

Alan Willison, 2/Nov/2013

Thank you for your comment about your recent visit to Dalby Forest. I am sorry that you felt the admission fee was not good value. The £7 admission fee goes to maintain all of the facilities within Dalby including the walking trails, cycling trails, picnic sites and play areas. With regards to your concern about WC facilities, these are located at the Visitor Centre, the Courtyard and about half way along the forest drive Staindale Lake.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

always a great experience, some staff are good and some not so good but I guess that's humans for ya, love the forest especially the bike trails,have even got the dalby discovery pass, they is always things happening for the outdoor persons-Great place to visit!!

john fowler, 1/Nov/2013
1 Star 1 Star

i was exhausted after i was told that the green route for cyclists was easy!, after about 10 minutes i was tired, with my trusty mountain bike and i both near to breaking point, it was horrific and the signs were misleading

Joe Frankish , 21/Oct/2013

Thank you for your comments about the green cycle route. I'm sorry that you felt disappointed with your visit; we suggest that our green cycle trails are for beginners in good health with basic bike skills. If you find a defect on the trail or the signage please report this to the ranger team on 01751 472771.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

I found the forest to be spectacular and the food to be of a good quality although the prices were a bit high, I loved the bike trails however could be a bit more safe as my bike wheel needed replacing after it fell off leaving me with mud on my face, however the spectacular forest allowed me to escape for a while! ;)

Simon Balls, 21/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

Excellent trip all round with stunning views, a vast array of wildlife on show as well. What does The Fox Say

Grace Martin, 21/Oct/2013
1 Star 1 Star

when i visited the 'great' dalby forest i was shocked. the tea in the cafe was appalling with stale bread and cold sausage rolls, after i asked for them to be heated!, and no one like to be disturbed by hooligan bikers half way through there afternoon nap. on the whole i was disappointed and i expect a reply from you to this comment!

Ben Towse , 21/Oct/2013

Hello, thank you for the comments about your recent visit to Dalby. I apologise that you felt disappointed by your visit to our restaurant. We serve Twinnings tea and fresh bread is regularly delivered. We are happy to heat up the sausage rolls, I apologise that this did not happen on this occasion. If you had highlighted your disappointment at the time we would have tried to rectify the situation, I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Forestry Commission Response
5 Stars 5 Stars

amazing! go ape was a hit and the wildlife at dalby forest is beautiful... the play park is great and the biking trails are awesome. Defiantly worth the day out

lexy, 20/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

I was amazed at the sight of the bike sheds, the toilets were amazing and a very well deserved 5 stars.

Josh "Peg Leg" Drew., 18/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

exellent, with stunning veiws of good old english countryside, the cafe was geogous and i filled myslef on scones and tea, i then had blast on the forest segway tour, it was great:)

Luke Hazell, 15/Oct/2013
1 Star 1 Star

I'm absolutely furious with the quality of my vist to Dalby. The scones were stale I was served black coffee instead of white coffee. Absolutely SHOCKING! I would very much like the service at the to be reviewed. THANK YOU

Alex Hemphill, 15/Oct/2013

Thank you for the comments about your visit to Dalby, I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your experience, in response, all of our scones are baked freshly each day and milk is available next to the counter, I'm sorry that you were unable to find this. If you had let us know that things were not to your satisfaction at the time we would have happily rectified this.

Forestry Commission Response
4 Stars 4 Stars

Great trails, some good sections but I think dalby has a lot more potential ie dirt jump park or a shower block. Still a great day out

Jason, 14/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

the car park was the absolutely beautiful and the toilets were amazing. the cakes in the gift shop were spiffing and i could get enough of the sausage rolls they melted in my mouth. The trip was eclipsed when i saw a dear struck by a car, which was quite sad. but overall a great trip

Joe Fro , 8/Oct/2013
5 Stars 5 Stars

The car park was beautiful and the gift shop was funky. I like the cakes in the cafe. They create a collestral feeling!

Anonymous, 30/Sep/2013
Even more user comments