Hunt is on for woodland winners

Bookmark and Share Nod tudalen & Rhannu

This news story is now over a year old and information may no longer be accurate or up-to-date. It might also contain obsolete links.
Please use our search link on the left to look for more recent information.

If you go down to the woods today – you might find an award with your name on it!

The 2013 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards is on the look out for nominees for the four categories of awards that aim to recognise and reward those who use, promote or manage Scotland's woods and forests to deliver economic, environmental and social benefits.

There are four category awards – featuring seven competitions!:

The Schools Award is open to secondary, primary, pre-school and special schools that have been involved in practical or desk-based projects connected with woodlands. This award includes a cash prize of £500 for the winner and $250 for the runner-up.
The Community Woodlands Award is for community-based projects and features two separate competitions - one for projects with a 'health and wellbeing' focus and a second for those focusing on 'economic development and regeneration'. The Tim Stead Trophy and £2,000 of prize money to be won. 
The New Native Woods Award is for new native woodland projects – and is rewarded with the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000 of prize money.
The Quality Timber Awards focuses on growing quality timber and has three competitions - newly-planted commercial woods; single-stands/small woods; or whole estates/large multi-purpose woods.  Three trophies and £3,000 of prize money have to be won.

Scotland's Finest Woods' Executive Director, Peter Wilson, said:

“Once again, we are setting out to showcase all that is best in the management of Scotland's woods and forests.

“We’ve made this year’s awards more open by changing eligibility criteria and by expanding our Scotland-wide Community Woodlands Awards to include two distinct competitions for 'healthy lifestyles' and 'viable livelihoods'.

“Our judges will be seeking out and rewarding the pursuit of excellence and there's nearly £7,000 of prize money to be won so don't be shy, enter your woodland project today and be part of it!”

Full details, including entry criteria and entry forms, are available at , where you can also register your interest in entering the Awards.

Entries must be received by 31st March 2013.

Notes to Editors:
1) Scotland's Finest Woods is an independent charity and relies on the generosity of supporters to stage Scotland's premier woodland awards programme. This year's key Delivery Partners are: BSW Timber, Egger Forestry, Forest Education Initiative, Forestry Commission Scotland, Iggesund Forestry, James Jones & Sons Ltd, Scottish Woodlands Ltd, UPM Tilhill and Woodland Trust Scotland. 

Media enquiries:
Paul Munro, Forestry Commission Scotland press office, 0131 314 6507
Peter Wilson, Scotland's Finest Woods Awards, 07740 434 220 or 0131 226 4665