Forestry Commission logo

Pamela Warhurst appointed Chair of Forestry Commission

This news story is now over a year old and information may no longer be accurate or up-to-date. It might also contain obsolete links.
Please use our search link on the left to look for more recent information.
Pam Warhurst CBE Chair of the Forestry Commission

The appointment today of Pamela Warhurst as Chair of the Forestry Commission has been welcomed by Tim Rollinson, Director-General.

The appointment was announced today by the Prime Minister’s Office, and Mr Rollinson said,

“Pam Warhurst brings a wealth of experience in fields new to the Commission, but which will be important to us as we continue to develop to meet the rapidly changing needs of society. I am very much looking forward to working with her.”

Mrs Warhurst, from Todmorden in West Yorkshire, was until recently a Member of the Board of Natural England, where she was the lead non-executive member working on the Countryside & Rights of Way Bill.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts & Manufacturing, and chairs Pennine Prospects, a regeneration company for the South Pennines, and Incredible Edible Todmorden, a local food partnership.

Mrs Warhurst has previously been the leader of Calderdale Council, Deputy Chair and Acting Chair of the Countryside Agency, a board member of Yorkshire Forward, and Chair of the National Countryside Access Forum and the Calderdale NHS Trust.

She was appointed CBE in 2005 for services to the environment.

Further information about the Forestry Commissioners is available at


  1. The Forestry Commission is the government department responsible for advising on and implementing forestry policy in Great Britain. It is a cross-border public authority responsible separately to Ministers in England, Scotland and Wales, and collectively on GB matters. The Commission manages approximately 1 million hectares of public forest land, provides advice to Ministers, offers grants for expanding, regenerating and managing forests, regulates tree felling, sets standards for good forestry practice, and works to protect Britain’s forests from pests and diseases. Through its Forest Research arm it conducts world-class scientific research and technical development relevant to forestry for a range of internal and external clients. For further information visit and
  2. The Forestry Commissioners advise and oversee the work of the Forestry Commission on behalf of Ministers in the UK, Scottish and Welsh Assembly Governments. (Forestry policy in Northern Ireland is implemented by the Forest Service of the Department of Agriculture & Rural Development of Northern Ireland.)
  3. All appointments are made on merit, and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Mrs Warhurst is a member of the Labour Party.
  4. Mrs Warhurst’s appointment was made by Her Majesty The Queen and endorsed by the Forestry Ministers in England, Scotland and Wales. It was made in accordance with the Code of Practice laid down by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The Commissioner is independent of the Government and was appointed to follow up certain recommendations of the Nolan Committee. The intention of the Code is to provide an efficient and transparent appointments system in which candidates and the public can have confidence.
  5. The remuneration payable to the Chair of the Forestry Commission is currently 20,000 a year, based on 42 days a year.
  6. Mrs Warhurst succeeds Lord David Clark of Windermere, whose term of office ended in December 2009.

MEDIA CONTACT: Charlton Clark, Forestry Commission, 0131 314 6500