The conservation and restoration of plantations on ancient woodland sites (PAWS)

Oak seedling (Quercus robur)Mid September to early November 2004 (see below for dates)

What was the event?

A series of ten regional events to update woodland managers on PAWS restoration practices.

Forest Research presented seminars at these events. The presentation, ‘PAWS restoration practice’ gave practical guidance on how to achieve effective restoration and explained the main points covered by the Forestry Commission Practice Guide: Restoration of native woodland on ancient woodland sites
.

Where did the event take place?

Date Venue Presenter Contact
14 September 2004 Overton Grange
Ludlow
Shropshire SY8 4AD
Richard Thompson Steve Cresswell
steve.cresswell@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel: 01584 877544
22 September 2004 Ridley Hall
Barton Mills
Cambridge CB3 9HG
Richard Thompson Neil Dixon
neil.dixon@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel: 01669 621591
24 September 2004 Ullswater Outward Bound Centre
Penrith
Cumbria CA11 0JL
Richard Thompson Jim O'Neil
jim.o’neil@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:017687 76616
28 September 2004 Sparsholt College (Crab Wood)
Winchester
Hampshire SO21 2NF
Ralph Harmer Jennifer Noel
jennifer.noel@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01420 23337
30 September 2004 Sutton Bank Visitor Centre
Thirsk
North Yorkshire YO7 2NB
Richard Price Mick Hoban
mick.hoban@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01904 448778
5 October 2004 Woodland Enterprise Centre
Hastings Road
Flimwell
East Sussex TN5 7PR
Ralph Harmer Jennifer Noel
jennifer.noel@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01420 23337
7 October 2004 Milden Hall
Near Lavenham
Sudbury
Suffolk CO10 9NY
Ralph Harmer Andrew Hoppitt
andrew.hoppitt@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01842 815544
19 October 2004 Buckfast Abbey
Buckfastleigh
Devon TQ11 0EE
Richard Price Neil Mackenzie/Mark Prior
neil.mackenzie@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
mark.prior@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01626 890666
21 October 2004 Bentley Woods
East Grimstead
Salisbury
Wiltshire
Richard Price Bill Ayres
bill.ayres@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01904 448778
2 November 2004 Riseholme College
Riseholme Park
Lincoln LN2 2LG
Richard Price Neil Riddle
neil.riddle@forestry.gsi.gov.uk
Tel:01673 843461