Menu

Alien invasive species and international trade

Inaugural meeting of IUFRO Working Party 7.03.12

3rd July to 7th July 2006

What was the event?

The worldwide spread of invasive organisms, whether insect, pathogen or plant, through international trade is a cause for concern.

This meeting included papers and posters covering any invasive organisms, including insects, pathogens and plants. In this respect, we were keen to encourage linkage between different IUFRO Working Parties and to stimulate debate and exchange of views on all aspects relating to controlling the spread of invasive species.

About IUFRO Working Party 7.03.12

Conference proceedings

Conference proceedings (short papers and abstracts) are now available as hard copy (contact Tomasz Oszako) or downloadable in PDF format:

Front coverConference proceedings (PDF-3859K)

Front and back covers (PDF-322K)

Conference programme

Sessions included:

  • Relying on inspection systems: new methods and measuring reliability
  • Developing clean stock programs
  • Effects of introducing genetic variation into existing pest populations
  • Post-entry quarantine systems
  • Predicting invasiveness of plant imports
  • Wood Packing materials: presence of bark
  • Wood Packing materials: alternative treatments and schedules
  • Ecological and economical impacts of invasive species.

Detailed list of topics (PDF-33K)

Conference programme (PDF-135K)

Report of the meeting and main conclusions from discussions (PDF-69K)

Who was the event suitable for?

Forestry researchers, plant health regulatory authorities.

Where did the event take place?

European Forest Training Center
Regional Directorate of State Forests
Radom
Poland

Contacts

Coordinator

Hugh F. Evans, UK - hugh.evans@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Deputies:
Eric Allen, Canada - eallen@nrcan.gc.ca
Kenji Fukuda, Japan - fukuda@k.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Organising committee members

Local:
Leszek Orlikowski, Poland - lorlikow@insad.pl
Tomasz Oszako, Poland - T.Oszako@ibles.waw.pl
Monika Malecka, Poland - M.Malecka@ibles.waw.pl

International:
Kerry Britton, USA - kbritton01@fs.fed.us