Forestry Commission logo

Wellies on for wildlife

British Trust for Conservation Volunteers repairing a pond viewing platform at Penybedd Forest, South WalesLeaves and bracken crackling underfoot as you follow the wildlife ranger off the path into the forest through the trees.  Sssh! You stop and listen and there you see a… 

Whether it is elegant birds or prey, cute dormice, slithering snakes or red squirrels you like to see there are conservation projects to protect all types of forest wildlife.  You could find yourself creating suitable habitat, conducting surveys or monitoring rare species of beetle or butterfly so volunteer for a conservation project near you.

Buckinghamshire - Wendover

Colin Bradley 
07778025144 
colin.bradley@forestry.gov.uk

Cumbria

Winlatter - Sally Burchall 017687 78613 sally.burchall@forestry.gsi.gov.uk www.forestry.gov.uk/whinlatter

Grizedale - Tania Crockett 01229 862023 
tania.crockett@forestry.gsi.gov.uk www.forestry.gov.uk/grizedale

Ennerdale - Gareth Browning 017687 76816 
gareth.browning@forestry.gov.ukwww.wildennerdale.co.uk/volunteering.html

East Sussex

Friston - Ian Hartle South Downs National Park 
ian.hartle@southdowns.gov.uk

Tilgate/Abbots Wood - Pete Crawford Sussex Wildlife Trust 01293 550730  www.sussexwt.org.uk/community

Gloucestershire

Queens Wood/Dymock Wood 
Kate Wollen  01594 833057 dean@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

Westonbirt - Cheryl Pearson cheryl.pearson@forestry.gov.uk www.fowa.org.uk

Forest of Dean 
Lorne Campbell/Kate Wollen  01594 833057  info@deangreenteam www.deangreenteam.co.uk

Hampshire

Alice Holt Forest - Julian Williams 01420 23666  julian.williams@forestry.gov.uk www.forestry.gov.uk/aliceholt

New Forest - Alexis Reeve 023 8028 6840  alexis.reeve@forestry.gov.uk

Herefordshire - Haugh Woods

Kate Wollen  01594 833057  dean@forestry.gsi.gov.uk

London - Thames Chase

http://www.thameschase.org.uk/ enquiries@thameschase.org.uk
Telephone: 01708 641880/642970 

Northumberland - Kielder

Northumberland Wildlife Trust  01912 846884  mail@northwt.org.uk 

Nottinghamshire - Sherwood

Find out more at www.forestry.gov.uk/eastmidlandsvolunteering

Norfolk - Thetford

Anne Mason Friends of Thetford Forest Park  01760 755685 
anne@providence28.fsnet.co.uk www.fotfp.org.uk 

South Yorkshire

Find out more at www.forestry.gov.uk/southyorkshirevolunteering

Somerset Neroche

Neroche Scheme  01823 680846  info@nerochescheme.org

Tyne & Wear Chopwell

Carole Friends of Chopwell Wood  01207 542495
M 07761 452440  caroleinthewoods@live.co.uk

West Sussex - St.Leonards

Friends of St.Leonards  01403 731885  fofslf@aol.com www.friendsofstleonardsforest

Pete Crawford Sussex Wildlife Trust  01293 550730

Yorkshire

Friends of Dalby Forest – www.friendsofdalbyforest.org.uk

Friends of Guisborough Forest and Walkway- www.fogfw.org

Friends of Hagg Wood – www.fohw.org.uk

Forestry Commission Ranger – Cath Bashforth- 07876 546592 cath.bashforth@forestry.gsi.gov.uk