Forestry Commission logo


Legislation and conventions relevant to Forests and Biodiversity, one of a series of seven Guidelines that support The UK Forestry Standard (UKFS).

The following legislation is available from

  • Conservation (Natural Habitats, &c.) Regulations 1994 (as amended). Guidance on implementing the Regulations and other aspects of biodiversity can be found at:
    England -
    Scotland -
    Wales -
    Northern Ireland -
  • Conservation of Habitats and Species Regulations 2010 (as amended)
  • Conservation (Natural Habitats, etc) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 1995 (as amended).
  • Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981 (as amended)
  • Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000
  • Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006
  • Protection of Badgers Act 1992 (as amended)
  • Nature Conservation (Scotland) Act 2004
  • Wildlife and Natural Environment (Scotland) Act 2011
  • Environment (Northern Ireland) Order 2002
  • Wildlife and Natural Environment Act (Northern Ireland) 2011
  • Nature Conservation and Amenity Lands (Northern Ireland) Order 1985 (as amended)