Forestry Commission logo

Discovery Pass

Discover the
freedom of
the forest…
every day of the year…

Get free parking, discounts on events and much more with an annual Discovery Pass


The ultimate free guide to our forests

Forest Xplorer running on iPhone and Android devices

Colour Me Happy!


Mixed age and species conifersFollow our autumn trail to discover the amazing sights, smells and sounds of autumn.

Look out for the woven woodland and help us create an autumn masterpiece!

The trail follows our Comb Beck (blue) walking trail, which is 1.75miles long, starting at the Visitor Centre.

Sign-up for your activity pack before coming to the forest to complete the trail.  

The trail is open until 1 November.

Event details

When is the event?

Sunday 23 October 2016 (more dates available)

Who is this for?


How much?


Where to meet?

Visitor Centre/Walking trail head

Do I need to book?

No booking - self-led trail

Dogs Allowed:


Event dates

Sunday 23 October 2016
Monday 24 October 2016
Tuesday 25 October 2016
Wednesday 26 October 2016
Thursday 27 October 2016
Friday 28 October 2016
Saturday 29 October 2016
Sunday 30 October 2016
Monday 31 October 2016
Tuesday 1 November 2016

Get the latest news, information & offers

Sign up for our emails

What's Here?

  • Cafe
  • Dogs
  • Parking (chargeable)
  • Picnic
  • Play area
  • Shop
  • Walking
  • Visitor centre
  • Toliets


OS Grid ref: NY209245
Postcode: CA12 5TW

Get directions


Recreation Ranger
01768 778469
Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification certifiedenjoy England quality assured visitor attractionForest Stewardship Council certified

England's Woods and Forests are cared for by Forest Enterprise England, an agency of the Forestry Commission.